Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

More Information

 

Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.

If we're not online, please email us at urilibrarian@gmail.com. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.

Icon Key

Most of these resources require that you log in with your eCampus username and SSO password. For additional details, please see our About EZproxy page.

  • URI Access Only  URI Students, Faculty, and Staff Only
  •  
  • PPL or OSL Only  PPL or OSL Resource - Public Library Card May Be Required for Use
  •  
  • In Library Use Only  Must Be Accessed from Within a URI Library
  •  
  • Free Resource - Available to All  Free Resource - Available to All

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
From the CIA Archives, contains primary source documents related to related to aviation, space, and rocketry that were collected and translated into English by the CIA between 1957 and 1995. Includes academic journal articles, government publications, newspapers, magazines, and transcribed television and radio broadcasts.
Sourced from the Library Company of Philadelphia, this collection provides nearly 1,400 fully searchable printed works essential for understanding the African-American struggle for identity from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow. Covers subjects as the development of African-American identity; descriptions of African- American life—both slave and free; slavery and race; eyewitness accounts of African-American life in the South, the North, and elsewhere; and official reports on the “progress” of African Americans. Also included are important works of African-American individuals and organizations and works of fiction, poetry and drama.
Sourced from the Library Company of Philadelphia, this collection contains more than 1,300 books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera that cover the history, peoples, and social and economic development of the African continent from the 16th century to the early 20th century. All areas of Africa and important adjacent regions are covered. Most of the works are in English and were published in the 19th century.
Online access to more than 100 African newspapers published from 1800-1925. Created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries and its contributing members, this collection provides news and perspectives from a wide range of counties and cultures and chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
Published by ASM International, the ASM Handbook contains peer-reviewed information on metals and materials technology.
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. Series 1 covers 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction, and Series 2 covers 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement.
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre, the Churchill Archive includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.
Consists of eleven modules. “African American Police League Records” documents how African American policemen in Chicago, beginning in 1968, attempted to fight against discrimination and police brutality by the Chicago Police Department and to improve relations between African Americans and police. The four modules of the “Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century” contain federal governmental records, organizational records, and personal papers related to the fight for civil rights. The six modules of the “NAACP Papers” contain internal memos, legal briefings, and detailed activity summaries from NAACP national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country from the years 1909 to 1972.
Sourced from the CIA Archives, contains primary source documents related to climate science and sustainability that were collected and translated into English by the CIA between 1957 and 1995. Includes academic journal articles, government publications, newspapers, magazines, and transcribed television and radio broadcasts.
Extensive collection of primary sources covering British governance of 25 islands in the Caribbean from 1624-1870, drawn from the Colonial Office Files from the National Archives of the UK. Includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
Sourced from the CIA Archives, contains primary source documents related to computing and artificial intelligence that were collected and translated into English by the CIA between 1957 and 1995. Includes academic journal articles, government publications, newspapers, magazines, and transcribed television and radio broadcasts.
Full-text archive of the page images of D&B's Key Business Ratios volumes from 1979 to present.
HathiTrust is a digital library of more than 17.4 million volumes, digitized from member library collections. URI faculty, staff, and students can log in to HathiTrust to access enhanced features. To log in, select "University of Rhode Island" from the list of institutions and enter your URI SSO (Single Sign-On) Credentials. Include @uri.edu in your username. Authenticated users may download full-book PDF files of all Public Domain and Creative Commons-licensed volumes. All volumes, including copyrighted works, are searchable. Details at this link: https://uri.libguides.com/hathitrust/ .
Comprehensive digital collection covering physical therapy, athletic training and sport-related health care. Features more than 30 ebooks and hundreds of accompanying videos.
From the CIA Archives, contains primary source documents related to related to bioethics that were collected and translated into English by the CIA between 1957 and 1995. Includes academic journal articles, government publications, newspapers, magazines, and transcribed television and radio broadcasts.
Primary source documents from the Bureau of Indian Affairs Field Office and Central Office Records at the American National Archives and Records Administration. Includes documents related to dozens of Native tribes from every region of the contiguous United States. Covers encounters between Indigenous people and the U.S. government and accounts of Native American cultures. Covers cover the history of Indian boarding schools, including attendance and curricula; the enforcement of treaties and federal laws; forced relocations and “Indian removal” policies; goods, supplies, medical care and payments provided to tribes; military conflicts; trading; and much more.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) unites multiple, distinct archives into a single resource of primary source documents covering the long nineteenth century and beyond. Sourced from libraries and archives around the world, NCCO consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. URI has two NCCO collections: British Politics and Society and British Theatre, Music, and Literature.
Comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
From the CIA Archives, contains primary source documents related to related to modern public health that were collected and translated into English by the CIA between 1957 and 1995. Includes academic journal articles, government publications, newspapers, magazines, and transcribed television and radio broadcasts.
Indexing, abstracts, and full text of scholarly research and technical literature in disciplines related to natural sciences and technology. Content covered includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. 1946-present.
Primary sources devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Sourced from more than 60 libraries, includes more than five million cross-searchable pages from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps. Consists of four parts: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: Age of Emancipation.
Consists of eight modules: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century (1636-1880); Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army; Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War, 1865-1877; Slavery and the Law; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries (1700-1896); and Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Parts 1-3.
Primary source materials drawn from special collection libraries and archives around the country that capture the voices of students across the range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. Materials include circulars, leaflets, fliers, pamphlets, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, ephemera; and meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.