Loading...
More Information
Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.
Chat is available during our regular hours.
If we're not online, please email us at researchhelp@uri.edu. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
- What's included? Primary source materials including letters, diaries, artifacts, and oral histories from The National WWII Museum in New Orleans, focusing on the American experience in World War II.
- What's included? Citations to and links to articles and professional materials from ERIC and the Supplemental Education Index which covers key scholarly journals in education.
- What else should I know? This unified database uses the ERIC Thesaurus to improve searching by subject.
What's included? Archive covering the origins of the American book trade from the late eighteenth century to the end of the twentieth century, with material drawn from mainstream and minority independent presses and bookstores.
- What's included? "Primary sources covering social, cultural, political, scientific and religious perspectives, from the 12th to early 18th centuries." Materials primarily cover English history, but the collection includes Spanish historical writing about the New World from the John Carter Brown Library.
- What's included? Primary source documents covering the development of the modern Olympic Games from 1896 to 1992, including materials related to politics and boycotts, docummentation of bids to host the olympics, athletes' correspondence, and more.
- What's included? Primary sources from British and US libraries about popular culture including printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and video clips.
- What dates are covered? 1950-1975
- What's included? Primary sources and personal narratives from and about refugee and migrant communities from Cold War migrations to current displacements as they were originally told, drawing on podcasts, blogs, digital magazines, and interviews.
- What dates are covered? 1940s to the present.
- What's included? Research Commons on the Web of Science platform is a separate, comprehensive collection of journal content from open metadata sources that can improve the discovery of items not otherwise indexed on the Web of Science platform. It sits alongside the more selective, curated Web of Science Core Collection and adds a significant amount of content in social sciences, arts, and humanities fields, and from the Global South. Records are integrated into the Web of Science citation network, creating linkages between papers.
- What dates are covered? 2015-present
- What's included? Newspapers and publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world during World War II. Materials come from key nations involved in the conflict.
- What's included? Articles from The Sunday Times, an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966 when both came under common ownership. Covers news, society, sports, arts, and politics.
- What years are covered? 1822-2021
- What's included? Articles from the world's oldest continuous educational publication covering public policy and pedagogical practice over the decades, not only in the United Kingdom but in other parts of the world. Topics include education, social history, women's studies, public health, literature and the arts, and a variety of topics in the humanities and social sciences.
- What years are covered? 1910-2000
- What's included? Articles from the renowned literary weekly offering coverage of the latest and most important publications, in every subject, in several languages, as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions.
- What years are covered? 1902-2019
- What's included? Civil rights-related news from major U.S. newspapers and historical documents, providing first-hand accounts of both current and historical civil rights issues and events.
- What's included? Magazines from Nigeria, Ghana, Liberia, Senegal, and other countries during both pre-independence and post-independence eras.
- What dates are covered? 1930s to the present.
- What's included? Primary sources on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire, and colonial territories, and a finding aid for women's studies resources in the National Archives in the UK.
- What's included? Books, primary sources, and archival records related to investigative journalism, crisis reporting, war coverage, social movements, and the impact of technological advancements on media.
- What dates are covered? Primarily covers events from the 1900s to the present.
- What's included? Primary sources on many aspects of World War II including government policy, the war in the Pacific and the war in Europe. Sources include the records of British espionage and sabotage organisation, The Special Operations Executive, and private papers of American General Robert L Eichelberger from the Pacific war.