Skip to main content
Scholarly & Research Articles
Art Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Besides art and art history, topics include advertising, antiques, archaeology, architecture, fashion, interior design, textiles, and more. Also indexed are reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. 1984-. Updated daily.
Search or browse over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. 1988-. Updated twice a month.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes work overviews, plot summaries, and explications.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Guide to scholarship on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. International in scope, the MLA Bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Full text for more than 1,000 journals.
Music Index Online (EBSCOhost)
Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. In addition to journal articles, it provides citations for book reviews, obituaries and news articles. 1970-.
Popular Media & Newspaper Articles
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
National Newspapers Core (ProQuest)
Indexing, abstracts, and full text of The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage varies by publication but generally begins in 1980s. Updated daily.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCOhost)
Access almost 100 years of cultural history with citations to over 3 million articles that appeared in 373 leading U.S. magazines as far back as 1890.
Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture
Call Number: REF HQ75.13 P76 2008
Publication Date: 2007
This encyclopedia offers information on gays and lesbians in popular culture including music, television, and sports. Entries are arranged alphabetically and includes some bibliographies for further information.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States
Call Number: REF PS153 S39 E53 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia covers many topics on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer literature from notable writers to history to social issues. Entries are arranged alphabetically, with further reading provided for additional resources.
The Queer Encyclopedia of Film and Television
Call Number: REF PN1590 G39 Q44 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia covering topics on LGBTQ representation and culture in film and television both in front of and behind the camera. Bibliographies are provided.
Online encyclopedia on GLBTQ culture (formerly glbtq.com). Archived as of August 1, 2015.
Lambda Literary Foundation
Foundation dedicated to the discussion of LGBT literature. Resources on the site include book reviews, interviews, and more.
Leslie Lohman Museum of Gay and Lesbian Art
Museum dedicated to LGBTQ art located in New York City. Collections are searchable online including sculptures, drawings, photographs, and more. Publications and additional resources are also available.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.