Need Help?
Secondary Sources
Secondary sources help to understand. interpret, analyze, and locate laws. There are multiple types of secondary sources.
Legal Guides
Legal practice guides provide necessary knowledge for legal practice in legal subject areas.
- Justia GuidesJustia has free legal guides in multiple legal subject areas.
- FindLaw Practice GuidesFindLaw has a collection of practice guides in legal subject areas.
- Georgetown Law Library Research TopicsThe Georgetown Law Library has created a collection of research guides for various subject areas and jurisdictions.
Legal Dictionaries and Legal Encyclopedias
Legal dictionaries and encyclopedias provide definitions and information on legal terms.
- Nolo Legal DictionaryNolo has an online free dictionary of legal terms and legal definitions.
- Law.com DictionaryLaw.com has created an online searchable legal dictionary.
- The Law DictionaryThe Law Dictionary is an online dictionary that features the second edition of Black’s Law Dictionary.
- WexThe Wex Online legal dictionary and legal encyclopedia is a collaboration created by legal experts hosted by the Legal Information Institute.
- Nolo Legal EncyclopediaNolo has an online free legal encyclopedia that provides information on multiple legal areas.
Legal Journals and Articles
Legal journals and articles are scholarly, peer-reviewed articles created by legal experts that reviews laws, legal issues, and court decisions.
- Law Review Commons CollectionLaw Review Commons has a searchable collection of law reviews and legal journals for both the present and past.
- Law Technology TodayThe Law Technology Today website has a law review and journal search that has free full-text PDFs of online law reviews, law journals, and academic papers.
- FindLaw Law Review LinksFindLaw has created a collection of links to many prominent law school law reviews. A lot of these links have a free version of recent law review issues.
- DOAJ Open Access JournalsDOAJ has a directory of open access journals, which includes law review articles.