Finding Scholarly Articles
There are several databases that can help you locate articles on History-related topics. For more information on these and other applicable databases, please stop by the Research Help Desk.
History-related databases are listed under URI Library > Articles & Databases > History, but it is a good idea to peruse some of the other subject areas as they may have databases that cover your topic.
You can get to a complete list of databases from: URI Library > Articles & Databases.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of countries other than the United States and Canada. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1450 - Present
- IsisCB Explore This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Articles and books on the history of science. Based on the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science
- What dates are covered? 1974 - 2014.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides citations to articles on biomedicine and life sciences topics including bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, marine biology, and preclinical sciences.
- What dates are covered? 1809 - Present.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? More than 900,000 citations to articles and books on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- What dates are covered? 1971-present
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
- Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
One of Google's specialized search tools, Google Scholar focuses primarily on information from scholarly and peer-reviewed sources. By using the Scholar Preferences page, you can link back to URI's subscriptions for access to many otherwise fee-based articles.