Skip to main content

HIS 375: History of Modern Japan, Prof. George: News Reading Reports

Guide to Library and Research Resources for HIS 375

Finding Newspaper Articles

For your News Reading Reports, you need to find two articles from the New York Times, the Washington Post, or the Wall Street Journal. Your first article must be a photocopy of an article from the print version of these newspapers or from the microfilm.

If you go to the web pages for the various papers, you may find that you only have access to limited dates. The best way around this is to use National Newspapers, a ProQuest database that will give you access to the newspapers without the limitations imposed on the general public.

Getting the Print or Microfilm

These are links to information from our catalog on URI's subscriptions in microfilm. You may need to scroll down the pages to get to information about URI's subscriptions.

Make sure the date you're looking for is in our microfilm collection. For example, our New York Times subscription covers from 1857-2009, but the subscriptions for the other papers are limited.

You can limit your search in National Newspapers to a specific date to coordinate with our collection.

Finding Newspapers on Microfilm

Below is a short slideshow illustrating how to find the microfilm. If you aren't able to see the embedded slideshow, click here to view it in its own window.

Microform Collection

The Microform Collection is located on the lower level of the Carothers Library.  The collection consists of back issues of selected journal and newspaper titles, dissertations, ERIC documents, and some historical collections.  Microforms may be printed or scanned and emailed.  For assistance with the use of this collection, the staff at the Info & Research Help Desk will be happy to help.  For more information on the contents and use of this collection, go to the Microform Collection Home Page.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.