Skip to main content
A list and description of American Holidays provided by USA.gov. It discusses federal holidays and national observances with further links to other relevant information. This site also provides additional links including: "Other Celebrations and Observances," and "Ethnic and Religious Holidays."
Holiday and Observances around the World
Lists of countries with links to their holidays and observances. Provides a current time and date of each holiday/observance.
Holiday Insights - Tradition, Fun, Facts and More!
Detailed information and lots more about every holiday and celebration imaginable.
Holidays on the Net
Searchable multimedia site. Describes over 100 holidays and provides an updated calendar list of holidays and observances. Includes links to numerous sources and other holiday related activities.
Cinco de Mayo
A detailed site on the history of Cinco de Mayo with additional links to other cultural events in Mexico.
The Day of the Dead (Dia de los Muertos)
Diwali: The Festival of Lights
Describes the five days of Diwaili, one of the biggest festival of Hindus. Includes aspects such as the writing of Diwali poems and songs, recipes, exchange of gifts. etc.
Hanukah (or Chanukah)
Description of the history of Hanukkah (or Chanukah), symbolism of food, traditions, multimedia audio and video, global events, etc.
Judaism 101: Jewish Holidays
Basic overview of Jewish holidays, includes, "A Gentile's Guide to the Jewish Holidays."
MelaNet: Kwanzaa Information Center
Detailed history on the holiday, meaning of symbols, principles conveyed, schedule for Kwanzaa celebrations, list of books and other resources. Links to other sites.
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
The King Holiday
Searchable database on the meaning of the King holiday, a chronology of the making of the holiday, the annual Commemorative Service and other schedules of events, etc.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day on the Net
Includes information on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Rosa Parks, and the Civil Rights Movement. A full text and video of the August 28, 1963 "I Have a Dream" speech plus links to other sites.
Ramadan on the Net
Information about the Muslim holiday of Ramadan and how it relates to the Holy Qur'an and Muhammad as well as a brief synopsis of the Muslim faith. Also includes links to information on the three day festival.
Thanksgiving History: Plimoth Plantation
An exploration of the development of this modern holiday from the Smithsonian Institute.
Information provided by the Center for World Indigenous Studies and Fourth World Document Project. Includes Plymouth Thanksgiving story, links to Thanksgiving sites, food, etc.
Thanksgiving on the Net
Includes links on harvest celebrations throughout history, turkey and stuffing recipes, Thanksgiving proclamation from US Presidents from 1996 onwards, and National Day of mourning — noting injustices to Native American Peoples.
The First Thanksgiving at Plymouth
From the Pilgrim Hall Museum, includes links about the "First Thanksgiving" and Thanksgiving's later significance.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.