Skip to main content
Indexes to Legislative History: Web Sources
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1976-
Index of all resources distributed by U.S. government agencies, including all Congressional publications in all formats. Records may be searched by title, subject, keyword, author, and Sudoc classification number.
File on Thomas that lists all legislative actions and all publications associated with each bill. Each Congress must be researched separately. Searches may be conducted by bill, amendment or Public Law number, by word/phrase, by sponsor, by committee, or by stage in the legislative process.
Provides citations and abstracting of congressional publications and the full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, prints, bills, and the Congressional Record. Also includes the text of United States laws and regulations, biographical and voting information of members of congress, and more. Updated daily.
Database of Congressional legislation and accompanying documents includes legislative history for all bills signed into law back to 1995/96 (104th Congress)
Indexes to Legislative History: Print Sources
Govt Pub Index 1970-2003
Index by subject, title, sponsor, witness, bill number and Public Law number to all Congressional publications. Legislative History section lists and summarizes all publications relating to the passage of each law passed that year. Replaced by ProQuest Congressional.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Govt Pub Index 1895-2004
List of publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Includes all Congressional publications. Annual index by author, title, subject and, after 1976, also by SuDoc number, report series number, GPO stock number, and title keyword. Continued by the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (see above).
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.