Skip to main content
Bibliography of Scientific and Industrial Reports (BSIR).
A collection of Federal documents involving scientific and technological research that had been classified during World War II. After the war, President Truman ordered the release of much the government-funded research. Later the program was broadened to include material from the defeated Axis powers. This resource is a bibliography of the documents released. It does not contain any full-text, although it does link to material available freely online (a small part of the original collection).
DOE Information Bridge
Indexes Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored scientific and technical reports. Replaces the print publication Energy Research Abstracts. 1995-. Updated weekly.
Energy Citations Database
Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), this database indexes and provides abstracts for technical reports in energy-related disciplines. Includes links to full text when available. 1948-.
Electronic access to a wide variety of information produced by the federal government. Full text sources include: Congressional Bills, the Congressional Directory, the Congressional Record, Congressional Hearings and Reports, the U.S. Code, Public Laws, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, the U.S. Constitution, Supreme Court Decisions, and more. See also: FDsys (http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/)
NASA Technical Report Service
Index and digitized database of reports produced by the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA), NASA’s predecessor. 1917-1958. Continues with citations and documents created or sponsored by NASA starting in 1958 and continuing to the present and also includes the NIX Collection, citations and links to the images, photos, movies, and videos from the discontinued NASA Image eXchange (NIX).
This gateway links to all government scientific and technical web sites. "Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results."
TRIS Online (Transportation Research Information Service)
Offered by the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics, this site provides citations and abstracts for transportation research covered in books, journal articles, technical reports. Other media, federal, state, local, and association publications and conference proceedings are also covered. The database extends from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage before 1960.
INIS atomindex. INIS atomindeks. 1970-1995.
Call Number: Z7144 .N8 I18
Abstracts to international publications on nuclear science and related disciplines. Includes technical reports, books, journal articles, conference papers, patents, standards, and theses. International in scope. Indexed by subject, author, and conference/proceedings date.
Monthly catalog of United States government publications
Call Number: URI Govt. Pub. Index Z1223 A18
1895-. Monthly with annual and decennial indexes. Located in Govt. Pub. Index Area.
Index of publications produced by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Included are some technical reports. Indexed by author, title, subject. For documents published after 1976, the GPO Monthly Catalog listed above is more useful.
Nuclear science abstracts. 1947-1976.
Call Number: URI Ref QC770 U64
Abstracts international literature in nuclear science and related disciplines. Includes technical reports, journal articles, patents, and books. Indexed by personal author and subject. After 1976, reports are included in INIS Atomindex listed above.
Scientific and technical aerospace reports. 1963-1995.
Call Number: URI Mezzanine TL500 S35
Index to literature on space and aeronautics and related disciplines published by NASA and its contractors. Each record includes citation, abstract, and publication availability. Indexed by author, subject, and NASA report number. Replaced by NTRS (NASA Technical Report Server) listed above.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.