Skip to main content
"The intended audience for speech-language-therapy dot com is families and others close to children with communication difficulties, and people working in the field of communication sciences and disorders. Its mission is to provide useful, theoretically sound, and where possible evidence-based information about human communication disorders."
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association blog.
A Guide to Clinical Assessment and Professional Report Writing in Speech-Language Pathology
Call Number: URI Reference RC428.5 .S84 2012
Provides guidance for the often overwhelming process of assessing speech and language disorders and offers diagnostic report writing tools. Organized by disorder, this book provides a sample report for each of the major communicative disorders discussed. It also includes a chapter devoted to basic report writing skills and grammar.
A Handbook on Stuttering
Call Number: URI Reference RC424 B54 2008
Offers a comprehensive review of evidence-based knowledge about the etiology, nature, and treatment of stuttering.
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology: A Resource Manual
Call Number: URI Reference RC423 S49 2009
Resource manual for a wide range of procedures and materials for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment data. Includes a chapter on literacy, with much-needed information on reading and writing assessment. Contains reproducible, customizable forms both in the text and in the accompanying CD-ROM.
Call Number: URI Reference RC423 .H3245 2011
A workbook designed to engage students in thinking about their clinical observations prior to graduate study in speech-language pathology. In addition to descriptions of the therapeutic processes, this book includes guided observation and reflection of specific areas (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association's "Big Nine").
Diagnosis in Speech-Language Pathology
Call Number: URI Reference RC423 D473 2000
Topically arranged. Offers recommended readings and marginal notes. Addresses multicultural issues in the field. Provides background history of the clinic, and discusses language, speech and voice disorders, head and neck cancer, aphasia, and cleft palate.
Medical Speech-Language Pathology
Call Number: URI Reference RC423 A2 G64 2010
Quick reference that details procedures, practices and terminology aimed specifically at the needs of the medically based speech-language pathologist. Covers the latest medical care delivery and procedures, including those related to pediatric care and end of life issues. Also discussed are skill-based clinical competencies for career development.
The Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders
Call Number: URI Reference RC423 .H3258 2010
A comprehensive survey detailing the state of the art in speech, language, and cognitive/intellectual disorders. Provides an in-depth exploration of the rapidly expanding field of communication disorders. Features a “foundations” section that deals with issues including social and practical considerations in classification and diversity, genetic syndromes, and principles of assessment and intervention.
Treatment Resource Manual for Speech Language Pathology
Call Number: URI Reference RC423 .R675 2011
A text for students entering clinical practicum. Basic therapy and information reporting techniques are discussed, as well as intervention strategies for working with unique child and adult client populations.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.