Skip to main content
speech act theory
Spanish and political discourse
English language or Spanish language and courtesy
Logical (Boolean) Operators
Using logical (Boolean) operators such as "AND", "OR", and "NOT" can help
narrowing down your search and identifying the most relevant articles.
Use "AND" to retrieve articles on both keywords. Use "OR" to retrieve
articles on either one of the terms or both. Use "NOT" to exclude the
information that you do not need.
Limiting by publication year, type of article, document type, or physical description can also help you find relevant articles.
Recommended Library Databases
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Indexing and abstracts of journals, books, and other materials on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. 1926-. Updated nine times a year.
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Online version of the Handbook of Latin American Studies. Bibliography containing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers in the humanities and social sciences relating to Latin America. Entries are selected and annotated by scholars in the field. 1936-. Updated annually.
Other Library Databases
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.