Skip to main content
An Introduction to the Aquatic Insects of North America
Call Number: Ref QL473 I57 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Aside from extensive chapters about each Order of aquatic insect, there is also information on their morphology, behavioral and evolutionary adaptations, and more. Separate chapters on sampling aquatic insects and their use in biomonitoring may also be of interest. Contains a lengthy bibliography and nearly 40 pages of color plates.
American Insects : A Handbook of the Insects of America North of Mexico.
Call Number: Ref QL474 A76 2000
A popular source since its original 1992 edition, this book contains listings of every known insect species that exists in America, north of Mexico, with descriptions of each Order and Family. Useful information on insect classification, physical and behavioral traits and collection are also provided. Many black and white illustrations and photographs throughout, and a bibliography is provided at the end of each chapter. Includes a glossary of important entomological terms.
Grasshoppers and Mantids of the World.
Call Number: Ref QL506 P74 1990
A basic overview of grasshoppers and mantids. Includes chapters on classification, feeding, defensive behaviors and attributes and more. Contains a wide assortment of black and white and color photographs, plus a small glossary.
Dragonflies of the World.
Call Number: Ref QL520 S56 2001
This book is an excellent introduction to the Odonata. The first portion contains information on their life cycle, hunting behaviors, flight mechanisms, reproduction and more. The rest of the text describes the various Suborders, Superfamilies, Families, and Subfamilies of dragonflies, and includes many full color photographs. Also contains a listing of international dragonfly societies and a bibliography of sources.
Butterflies of the World.
Call Number: Ref QL542 S3613 1998
While this book could be used for identification purposes, it also serves as a general information text on the Lepidoptera. Information is included on a range of topics, such as the life cycle, adaptations against predation and even a particular chapter on the well-known gypsy moth caterpillar. Catching, preserving, and conserving these insects is also described. Nearly every right-hand page is a color plate showing different species, as well as appearance of larvae, eggs, and basic anatomy.
Butterflies of North America
Call Number: Ref QL548 B76 2003
Publication Date: 2003-03-02
A full-color field guide of North American butterflies. Divided by Family and Species, each entry contains common location information/range, description of color patterns and markings, and typical foodplants. Pictures include male and female variations and occasionally the larva; actual size is depicted. Also contains general information on finding and identifying butterflies as a hobby and a page of recommended sources.
A Field Guide to Moths of Eastern North America
Call Number: Ref QL551 A75 C68 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
This book is foremost a field guide-- divided by family and including information on the moths’ appearance, range, and preferred food along with over 60 pages of full color plates. However it also includes general moth information such as their anatomy, life cycle, and even how to rear and collect specimens.
The Bees of the World.
Call Number: Ref QL566 M53 2007
The first part of this book discusses a variety of bee related traits and behaviors, such as their relationships with flowers and even information on their history via fossilized bees. The majority of the text lists the various families, subfamilies, and tribes with descriptions as well as descriptions of the various genera. Some black and white illustrations throughout and 20 full color plates. Very extensive list of literature cited is included.
Call Number: Ref QL581 A43 2001
This two volume set contains a wealth of information on the largest order of the insects, the Coleoptera. After a brief anatomical review, each family of beetle is given a multiple page entry covering such information as a detailed physical description, habitat, and distribution. At least one black and white illustration is given for each and several pages of color plates are used. Extensive, if dated, bibliographies are provided at the end of each chapter.
, Articles & Databases
, Biological Sciences
, Business, Labor, and Economics
, Cell & Molecular Biology
, Computer Science & Statistics
, Criminology & Criminal Justice
, Environmental & Natural Resource Economics
, Film Studies
, Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science
, General & Reference
, General Library Information
, Hot Topics
, Internet Resources
, Labor Relations & Human Resources
, Landscape Architecture
, Life Sciences, Marine & Environment
, Natural Resources
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Plant Sciences
, Political Science
, Rhode Island and New England
Created and Revised By
J.L. Kelland, 11/03, 6/07, J. Austin 10/10. E. Cataldi-Roberts 5/13
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.