Skip to main content
Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)
Provides information and resources for researchers as well as those affected by rape, abuse, and incest.
Search for Proposed Rules and Rules, as well as Notices from the Federal Register. Documents such as Public Comments and Supporting and Related Materials are often associated with these regulations, and can also be found on this site.
Representative Poetry On-Line
Includes over 2,000 English-language poems by over 300 poets from the early medieval period to the beginning of the twentieth century.
Rhode Island Board of Governors for Higher Education Reports
Provides current reports and statistical briefs on higher education in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island Central
The online face of several local weekly newspapers including The Narragansett Times, The Chariho times.
Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (RIDE)
Information and statistical data on all aspects of elementary and secondary education in Rhode Island, from public schools to students, families and community, and from student learning to information for teachers and administrators.
Rhode Island Department of Health
This is the official site for the Rhode Island Department of Health with health information of all kinds including regulations, health alerts, public health programs, vital records and professions information.
Rhode Island Department of Health - Find Healthcare Providers
Search for doctors in RI by name, location, provider type, or specialty. Provides address, date of birth, medical school, and information about specialties, board certifications, and license status.
Rhode Island Department of Human Services
An "organization of opportunity, working hand-in-hand with other resources in Rhode Island to offer a full continuum of services for families, adults, children, elders, individuals with disabilities and veterans."
Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
Offers an online Rhode Island job bank and other job listings, detailed labor market information for the state, the Rhode Island Employer Handbook, and descriptions of the department’s programs and services.
Rhode Island Division of Taxation
Online tax regulations, forms and instructions (forms require Adobe Reader
), online filing capabilities, and general information.
Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation
RIEDC is a state-owned corporation dedicated to promoting business in Rhode Island. Their web site offers statistics on the state’s economy, city and town information, tourist information, and more.
Rhode Island Foundation Scholarship Directory
Site includes the Apple Book Online, a list of degree programs available at reduced tuition through NEBHE’s Regional Student Program; the Directory of Minority Doctoral Students Seeking Teaching Careers, and other useful information.
Rhode Island General Assembly
Includes the full text of the General Laws of Rhode Island, the text of Public Laws back to 1994, the text of current bills, the text of House and Senate Journals, biographies of state representatives and senators, and more.
Rhode Island Health Centers Association
RIHCA provides "support to the community health centers" and "serves as the state’s primary care association and provides leadership in the areas of chronic care collaboratives, emergency preparedness, recruitment and retention of staff, outreach and enrollment, and public policy."
Rhode Island Historical Preservation & Heritage Commission
The "state agency for historical preservation and heritage programs. The Commission operates a statewide historical preservation program that identifies and protects historic buildings, districts, structures, and archaeological sites. The Commission also develops and carries out programs to document and celebrate the rich cultural heritage of Rhode Island's people."
Rhode Island Historical Society
The RI Historical Society is a museum and library that provides both serious and casual researchers with access to information on structures, objects, paintings, graphics, manuscripts, and printed matter.
Rhode Island KIDS COUNT
Profiles, graphs, maps, and rankings of the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island Labor History Society
Organization with a mission to preserve materials related to the history of labor in Rhode Island
Rhode Island Library Association
A "professional association of Librarians, Library Staff, Trustees, and library supporters whose purpose is to promote the profession of librarianship and to improve the visibility, accessibility, responsiveness and effectiveness of library and information services throughout Rhode Island."
RI Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner
Provides current reports and statistical briefs on higher education in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island Office of Library & Information Services
From The Office of Library and Information Services (OLIS): OLIS is the state library agency for Rhode Island. OLIS supports and strengthens library and information services in the state to ensure that all residents will benefit from free and convenient access to library and information resources and services. In addition, OLIS participates in planning and providing access to online government information for state agencies and the public.
OLIS has the statutory authority and responsibility to administer state and federal funding and to coordinate and support programs for libraries of all types. It is part of the Executive Branch of state government located in the Department of Administration under the direction of the Chief of Library Services. OLIS works with the Library Board of Rhode Island to establish priorities and policies to carry out its mission.
Rhode Island Public Expenditure Council (RIPEC)
RIPEC is an “independent, nonprofit and nonpartisan public policy research and education organization dedicated to the advancement of effective and efficient government in Rhode Island.” Their web site offers statistics on state and local property taxes, state aid, community demographics, school funding, and analysis of the state budget.
Rhode Island Public Radio
Rhode Island's National Public Radio affiliate.
Rhode Island Secretary of State’s On-Line Office
Offers online voter registration, legislative information, directories of state officials and state departments, tourism information, business information, and R.I. history.
Rhode Island State Budget
Provides the current Rhode Island state operating budget, revenue estimates, state debt, performance measures, a budget primer explaining how the state budget works, and frequently-asked-questions.
Rhode Island State Council on the Arts
This web site includes information about the RI State Council on the Arts, and provides links to an Arts Directory, Organizations, Individuals, Education, Grant, Folk Arts, Film/TV Office, Public Art and Special Projects.
Rhode Island State Government Information Page
Directory of RI state agency web sites. Lists legislative, judicial, and executive branch sites; also includes links to sites for RI organizations in business, disabilities, education, environment, health, human services, libraries, and tourism.
Rhode Island State Library
Search the online catalog of the Rhode Island State Library for state publications and other items.
Rhode Island’s Future
“An Insider’s Guide to Politics and Culture in Rhode Island... Rhode Island's Future is a blog about Rhode Island politics and culture, written by Rhode Island residents.”
RI Citizens for the Arts
Shows statistics on jobs and businesses in the creative industries in RI. Also shows state budget details for the arts in RI and more.
RI Coalition Against Domestic Violence
“The purpose of the Rhode Island Coalition Against Domestic Violence is to eliminate domestic violence in Rhode Island.”
RI Community Food Bank
“The Rhode Island Community Food Bank provides quality food to people facing hunger through our network of certified member agencies.”
The Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation offers business data, profile of Rhode Island industries, lists of companies, state & community profiles, and more.
RI Fact Sheet - USDA Economic Research Service
The U.S. Department of Agriculture offers State Fact Sheets covering Population, Income, Education and Employment; Farm Characteristics; Farm Financial Indicators; and Top Commodities, Experts and Counties. Select Rhode Island to see the state's fact sheet.
Rhode Island Quick Facts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Provided by the United States Census Bureau, this site gives a quick glance at facts and statistics on people, business and geography. Information sources vary in date coverage from 2002-.
“Centralized electronic portal through which individuals and businesses will easily access Rhode Island government information and services from multiple agencies.” Offers a directory of Rhode Island Web sites, a variety of information about living in, working in, and visiting the state, Rhode Island facts and history, real-time answers to questions, and more.
RIPTA – Rhode Island Public Transit Authority
Search for the times and routes you need to travel and the RIPTA database will produce bus schedules for you.
Roget’s II: The New Thesaurus, Third Edition, 1995
Online version of Roget’s Thesaurus through Bartleby.com.
Online version of Roget’s Thesaurus.
, Articles & Databases
, Biological Sciences
, Business, Labor, and Economics
, Cell & Molecular Biology
, Computer Science & Statistics
, Criminology & Criminal Justice
, Environmental & Natural Resource Economics
, Film Studies
, Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science
, General & Reference
, General Library Information
, Hot Topics
, Internet Resources
, Labor Relations & Human Resources
, Landscape Architecture
, Life Sciences, Marine & Environment
, Natural Resources
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Plant Sciences
, Political Science
, Rhode Island and New England
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.