Need Help?
Finding Articles
Consult articles once you've created a research question or thesis and want to look at your topic in detail. If you are just starting out and don't have a good sense of your topic yet, check out "Finding Background Information" first.
The databases on this page provide access to scholarly, popular, and news articles. Some databases will lead you directly to the full text of an article while others will help you find abstracts (summaries) for articles that you'll need to track down elsewhere.
If you have any trouble finding what you need, just ask a librarian! For a refresher, check out our guide.
To browse a specific journal, search for it by name in URI's Journal Search or browse for journals by subject on BrowZine!
- E-Journal List - URI Journal SearchEnter the title of the journal or newspaper you're looking for to find access quickly!
- BrowZineAn app that lets you browse journals by discipline or search by title. You can save journals or articles to a personalized bookshelf for later use!
Suggested Education Databases
The best place to find articles is in one of the library's databases, but choosing a database can be overwhelming! Here are a few best bets with a brief description of their specialties and strengths! Use the recommendations below for a good place to start. If you want to explore beyond these, you can search the library's A-Z Databases list by "subject" to find recommendations for your field or area of study.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and abstracts of journals and other materials in education. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1966 - Present.
- Education Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides select full text of periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in the field of education.
- What dates are covered? Article indexing, 1983-. Abstracts, 1994-. Full text, 1996-.
- Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Indexing of over 800 periodicals in education.
- What dates are covered? 1929 - 1983
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides citations and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
- EBSCOhost Ebook Subscription K-8 Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Collection of e-books designed to support a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all academic subjects from History, to Language and Literature, to Science & Technology. Contains over 15,000 titles.
- What else should I know? This database is provided to the URI community by the School of Education.
Databases from Other Disciplines
If your research topic crosses multiple subject areas or if you just want to get a broader context for your topic beyond your specific field, consider exploring more widely! We've collected some recommendations below to help you get started, but remember that you can also head to the Library's A-Z Databases List and browse by subject to see what databases we have available in other subject areas. Start with the Best Bets section as those databases have been selected by librarians as good places to start your research!
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracts of journal articles and books in psychology, including applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. Updated twice weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1597 - Present.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Guide to scholarship on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. International in scope, the MLA Bibliography covers scholarly publications including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Full text for more than 1,000 journals.
- What dates are covered? Early 20th century - Present.
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook and additional supporting materials, including other MLA guides and instructor resources. Annual updates to the handbook are included.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? More than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- What dates are covered? Mid-1960's - Present.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Reports researched and written by journalists, on a variety of current topics. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- What dates are covered? 1923-. Updated weekly.