Need Help?
Introduction
This page collects resources focused on special education. Below, you will find a curated selection of recommended books and e-books covering a wide range of special education topics, as well as links to relevant publicly available sources. If you're looking for popular or scholarly articles focused on special education, check out the databases listed on the Finding Articles page for a good place to start.
Finding Books
Search for books using URI Libraries Search! Add search terms into the boxes for the topic or author you're looking for and click "search".
Once you're on the results page, you can use the filters on the right to narrow things down. Choose Available Online if you only want ebooks or Available in the Library if you want materials in print.
Search Tip: Try searching with individual words or short two-word phrases that reflect the main concepts of your topic to get better results.
- URI Libraries Search
URI's library catalog - this is your starting point for books (and other materials!) on any topic
The books below are just a starting point! If you're looking for related material in the catalog, terms like Learning Disabilities, Academic Accommodations, and Individualized Education Program can help you find additional relevant resources on your own!
Recommended Books & Ebooks
-
Six Shifts to Improve Special Education and Other Interventions
by
Call Number: Stacks LC4704 .L49 2020ISBN: 9781682534793Publication Date: 2020This book highlights various practices that could be implemented by school leaders and administration to better improve their special education programs and move away from outdated practices. -
Loving Your Job in Special Education
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781032345130Publication Date: 2022This text provides educators with tips for avoiding burn-out, prioritizing self-care, managing a classroom, and connecting with families. -
Shaking up Special Education
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0367478900Publication Date: 2020This book is an instructional resource that encourages interaction and collaboration for special educators. This text provides sample activities, tips for co-teaching and more.
-
Handbook of Special Education Research Volume I
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780367708849Publication Date: 2022This handbook provides detailed information on key topics in theory, methods, and development and the ways that these domains affect special education research. -
Moral Issues in Special Education
by
Call Number: Stacks LC3969 .L33 2020ISBN: 9781475855333Publication Date: 2020This text explores moral issues in k-12 special education practices and discusses philosophical standpoints in education. -
A Guide to Best Practice in Special Education, Health and Social Care
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1032366753Publication Date: 2023This book explores recent changes in governmental policies and regulations that impact education, health and social care services.
-
The Special Educator′s Guide to Assessment
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1544344236Publication Date: 2020The guide encompasses disability, assessment, diagnosis, eligibility according to IDEA, and special education. This guide also has questions to help students reflect on what they have read and how they can apply it. -
The Complete Guide to Special Education: Expert Advice on Evaluations, IEPs, and Helping Kids Succeed
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138085046Publication Date: 2018This guide discusses Response to Intervention (RTI), identification and assessment of children with learning disabilities and how to provide the best possible education.
-
The Unteachables: Disability Rights and the Invention of Black Special Education
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1452964742Publication Date: 2023This book highlights the racist history of special education. As schools were de-segregating, African Americans were often believed to have learning disabilities during the 1950s and 60s. -
Multicultural Special Education for Inclusive Classrooms
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780367650995Publication Date: 2022The text covers K-12 special education with a specific focus on culturally diverse students with disabilities. -
The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118768822Publication Date: 2017This handbook highlights a variety of topics such as inclusive education, social justice, collaborating with other educators and more.
Publicly Available Resources for Special Education Teachers
All the recommendations below are free resources that don't require a university login to access. Below you'll find resources for educators, families, and students.
-
The National Association of Special Education TeachersThe National Association of Special Education Teachers is a membership organization that provides support and assistance to those pursuing a career or teaching in the field of special education.
-
The Council for Exceptional ChildrenThe Council for Exceptional Children is a professional organization that focuses on improving the lives of children with disabilities through their advocacy work.
-
Rhode Island Department of Education: Special EducationThe Rhode Island Department of Education: Special Education webpage has informational resources for local regulations, IEPs, and school support systems.
-
U.S. Department of Education: Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP)U.S. Department of Education: Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) administers the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and advocates for children with disabilities, birth through 21, and their families.
-
National Center for Learning DisabilitiesThe National Center for Learning Disabilities works to empower young adults and adults with learning disabilities to succeed in school, work, and life. They have different resources for caregivers, educators, and allies!
Page Credits
Created by: Lily Hobin, Oct.2025