Offers a somewhat random search of books scattered across the country. Some full text searching of books, and some full text viewing of out-of-copyright materials. You may be able to request books viewed via Interlibrary Loan.
Much like Google Books, this contains scans of a variety of books held in libraries internationally.
Search the catalog for likely terms: Meiji and history, for example.Look at your results.If you find something that looks interesting, and you want to see similar results, click on the LC Subject – this will take you to other books on the same topic.
If you locate a book in a library outside of Rhode Island, you can request the book through Interlibrary Loan. These requests generally arrive within one month.
There are several databases that can help you locate articles on related topics. For more information on these and other applicable databases, please stop by the Info & Research Help Desk.
You can get to a complete list of databases from:
URI Library > Find Articles & Online Resources > All Databases by Title
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.