Need Help?
Population Demographics
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the University of Minnesota, the NHGIS contains "summary statistics and GIS files for U.S. censuses and other nationwide surveys from 1790 through the present." - Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing CountsCompiled by the U.S. Census Bureau, this government website provides access to the 1860 U.S. Census, as well as various reports and documents concerning state agriculture, economics, population estimates, and more.
Historical Statistics of Black America by Call Number: URI Reference E185 H543 1995ISBN: 0810385422Publication Date: 1994(2 vols). Presents statistical tables that can be viewed by subject or year of relevance, and include such topics as demographics, slavery population estimates by state, property holdings, information on education and literacy, and more.
Economy and Agriculture
Economic History of the United States Prior to 1860: An Annotated Bibliography. by Call Number: URI Ref Z7165 .U5 O77ISBN: 0874362059Bibliography of books, government documents, articles and dissertations on American economy prior to 1860. Entries are arranged by subject, and indexes to both author and subject are provided.
For additional information, conduct a SUBJECT search in the catalog for terms such as: INDUSTRIES -- UNITED STATES -- HISTORIES; UNITED STATES ECONOMIC CONDITIONS TO 1865; or, AGRICULTURE -- UNITED STATES -- HISTORY. Information on state economic and agricultural activity can also be accessed through the 1860 Census of Population and Housing.
Encyclopedia of American Economic History by Call Number: URI Ref HC103 .E52ISBN: 0684162717Includes information on the development of American economy from the country's inception through the late 20th century. A cumulative index by subject is included in the third volume.
Handbook of American Business History by Call Number: URI Ref HC103 .H19 1990ISBN: 0313251983A series of essays on specific industries and products provides an historical overview of business trends and practices in the United States.
Voting and Elections
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-2005, the Continental Congress, September 5, 1774 to October 21, 1788, and the Congress of the United States from the First through the One Hundredth Congresses, March 1789 to January 3, 2005, In by Call Number: Print (Govt Pub Serial Set 14902) & OnlineISBN: 0160731763Contains biographical information for members of United States Congress during the years indicated. Entries typically include officials' birth and death dates, locations of burial, education and employment history, political offices and affiliations, and more.
For additional information regarding historical state voting laws or elections, conduct a SUBJECT search in the catalog using such terms as VOTING -- UNITED STATES -- HISTORY -- 19th CENTURY; or, SUFFERAGE -- UNITED STATES.
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to the U.S. Elections by
Call Number: URI JK1967 .C662 2001ISBN: 156802603XTables display the polling results of the United States Senate, House, President, and State Governors' elections from 1824-2000.- State Constitutional Conventions: From Independence to the Completion of the Present Union, 1776-1959; a Bibliography by Call Number: URI Ref KF4501 .B76ISBN: 0837170052Annotated bibliography of documents concerning state constitutional conventions for the years indicated. Introduction provides statistical information on state charter dates, founding dates, original political status, number of constitutions since inception, number of amendments, and more.
A Statistical History of the American Electorate by Call Number: URI Ref JK1967 .R87 2001ISBN: 1568023642Tables examine the accuracy, voting practices, and outcomes of U.S. elections from 1788 to 1999. Includes a chapter on suffrage which details state voting requirements, arranged by year.
Student's Atlas of American Presidential Elections: 1789-1996 by Call Number: URI Ref JK524 .I85 1997ISBN: 1568023774Entries for each election contain political maps, tables displaying electoral and popular vote counts, and brief articles describing the election process and campaign strategies of the candidates.
United States Gubernatorial Elections, 1776-1860: The Official Results By State and County by Call Number: URI Ref JK2447 .D83 2003ISBN: 0786414391Supplies election dates, terms and limitations, candidate party affiliations, and the number and percent of the votes received by each candidate.United States Presidential Elections, 1788-1860: Official Results by County and State by
Call Number: URI Ref JK524 .D778ISBN: 0786410175Statistical reference to presidential election returns for both state and county during the years indicated.
