Skip to main content
Wolfram Alpha is a computational engine that is very useful for solving mathematical equations, converting between units of measure, and other mathematical operations.
Provides online help for some calculus problems and algebra work; requires an account for more advanced calculations, but is good for basic work.
Contains several links, example tests, and formulae. Calculus.org is useful as a general resource center for studying calculus.
Provides a brief review of several common calculus topics.
This is an online textbook for multivariable calculus recommended by the Math Dept.
Visual Calculus Aids
Collects flash-based tutorials on various calculus subjects.
Books, Handbooks and Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society
Call Number: URI REF QA10.7.E53 2012, vol. 1-3
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
This multi-volume set includes essays that will help to understand the importance of mathematics, its influence on societies around the world and the history of applied mathematics.
Concise Handbook of Mathematics Physics and Engineering Sciences
Call Number: URI REF QA40.C65 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-18
Mathematics topics include: Arithmetic and elementary algebra, Elementary functions, Elementary geometry, Analytic geometry, Algebra, Limits and derivatives, Integrals, Series, Functions of complex variable, Integral transforms, Ordinary differential equations, Partial differential equations, Special functions and their properties, Probability theory
International Encyclopedia of Statistical Science
Call Number: URI REF QA276.14.I58 2011, vol. 1-3
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Three-volume set. Information for both non-statisticians to obtain comprehensive and accessible information on specific statistical terms, methods and applications and for researchers and practitioners to refresh their knowledge of Statistics.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
Call Number: URI REF QA276.14.E84 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-19
Approximately 4000 terms defined. The dictionary covers medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics. Includes entries on standard and specialized statistical software, short biographies of important statisticians. Definitions will aid in clarification of concepts and provide standard forumulas.
The Princeton companion to mathematics
Call Number: URI REF QA11.2 P745 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Contains detailed explanations of various fields of mathematical study along with formulae and equations.
101 careers in mathematics
Call Number: URI REF QA10.5 A15 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Shows possibilities for students considering mathematics as a career field.
General Internet Resources
American Mathematical Society
Contains resources and links for professional mathematicians. It is an example of a professional organization and is a good place for upper level students to search for contacts and research ideas.
Shodor Online Mathematics Dictionary
Provides explanations of mathematical terms and concepts. This site also has a large number of math games and resources.
URI Math Department
Explains the requirements of the URI Math Major and contains useful mathematics resources.
URI Math Department Flash Applets
Provides a wide variety of flash applets that can help you with your math studies. Includes math games, calculators, graph construction tools and much more.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Math Occupations
Information on careers in mathematics from the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.