Skip to main content

PSC 210: American Politics: Theories and Applications: Finding Sources: Articles

Reference & Research Help

Ways to Get Research Help

Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk

Call Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

(401) 874-2653

Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

Click Here to Start

Email Us
(After Regular Hours)

(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)

Using Articles in Research

Most scholarly research focuses heavily on periodical literature -- journal articles, conference proceedings, and the like. As scholars in training, learning to find and use this material is critical for undergraduate students.  The Library subscribes to a number of databases which index journal articles of interest to political science students. Some of the databases also provide the full text (see note below).

Note: Some of these databases will provide you with citations for the articles but not access to the full-text itself.  However, the databases have a "search for full text" button for each citation which will execute a search to find the full text in another source.  You can also use the Library Catalog to search for articles we do not have online (you must search by the journal title, then see if we have the specific volume/year). For material we do not have, Interlibrary Loan can usually get it for you in a few weeks.


Listed below are databases useful for scholarly research in political science.  PAIS International as the major database for political science and public policy should be your first stop. The other databases will also have material on your topic, espcially if you wish to find interdisciplinary sources.  All the databases have help screens and tutorials to help you navigate through the database.

My Profile

Deborah Mongeau's picture
Deborah Mongeau
University Libraries

Public Services Department

phone: (401) 874-4610

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.