Skip to main content
Animal Science Organizations
General Animal Science Books
If you're just getting started in animal science, these books will introduce you to some of the main topics.
An illustrated guide to animal science terminology : with interactive CD-ROM
Call Number: SF61 B695 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This thorough guide contains a plethora of definitions concerning animal science, and much more. Many black and white pictures, maps, anatomy charts, and other supplementary information are included with each chapter. Information concerns not just livestock, but also cats, dogs, bison and more. Usage, products, breeds, and management terms are all covered. Includes CD-ROM.
Mason's world dictionary of livestock breeds, types, and varieties
Call Number: Ref SF105 M34 2002
Publication Date: 2002
This book contains a listing of breeds and types (both in existence and extinct) of asses, buffalo, cattle, goats, horses, pigs, and sheep. Introduction contains a key to reading the entries. The glossary contains terms relating to livestock in a variety of languages, from Afrikaans to Vietnamese. A bibliography to breed sources, broken down by country and animal type, is also provided.
Handbook of livestock management
Call Number: Ref SF65.2 B38 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Contains information on all aspects of animal production, broken down by species (beef/dairy cattle, swine, horses, sheep, goats, and poultry). Also has chapters on animal restraint and general health management of livestock. Some black and white photographs of popular breeds; many illustrations, charts, and tables.
Livestock feeds and feeding
Call Number: SF95 .K3296 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Includes chapters on the anatomy and physiology of the digestive system, different categories of feed and subjects such as balancing rations and labelling laws. Each type of livestock is given a dedicated chapter covering feeding practices in detail, with a separate section for companion and exotic animals as well as rabbits. Every chapter is concluded with a summary and references and there are numerous informational charts, graphs, and tables. A very complete book on a complex subject.
, Articles & Databases
, Biological Sciences
, Business, Labor, and Economics
, Cell & Molecular Biology
, Computer Science & Statistics
, Criminology & Criminal Justice
, Environmental & Natural Resource Economics
, Film Studies
, Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science
, General & Reference
, General Library Information
, Hot Topics
, Internet Resources
, Labor Relations & Human Resources
, Landscape Architecture
, Life Sciences, Marine & Environment
, Natural Resources
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Plant Sciences
, Political Science
, Rhode Island and New England
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.