Skip to main content
Books about Cattle
Cattle : a handbook to the breeds of the world
Call Number: Ref SF198 P67 1992
Broken down by continent and then by country, these short entries contain information on the history and use of different breeds of cattle. Some descriptions also contain information on conformation and color patterns as well as any unique factors of that breed. Included are color illustration plates and a number of maps pin-pointing the locations of various breeds. Appendices include a short glossary, list of extinct breeds, a bibliography and more.
Storey's guide to raising beef cattle
Call Number: SF207 .T47 2009
Contains information on all aspects of caring for beef cattle, from calving to finishing before slaughter. Much of the information is not beef cattle specific, making this a valuable guide on the care of cattle in general. Utilizes many illustrations, black and white photos, and sidebars with supplemental information. Contains a glossary as well as recommended resources, suppliers, and breed organizations.
Dairy cattle science
Call Number: SF208 T95 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Covers all aspects of running a dairy establishment, genetics and breeding, nutrition and feed sources, lactation, biosecurity and more. Pictures and figures illustrate many points. Additional resources, both print and electronic, are listed at the end of each chapter.
The cattle health handbook : preventive care, disease treatments & emergency procedures for promoting the well-being of your beef or dairy herd
Call Number: SF961 .T46 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This work contains information on diseases and disorders that may affect cattle, broken down by sections of the body. Illnesses caused by parasites, viruses, bacteria, and malnutrition are also covered as well as basic health management. Many black and white illustrations and pictures are included along with helpful sidebars with further information and real life examples. Includes a glossary, list of further resources and several appendices covering anatomy, aging by the teeth, cattle diseases that may affect humans and more.
Essential guide to calving : giving your beef or dairy herd a healthy start
Call Number: SF205 .T47 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Discusses all aspects of pregnancy, calving and health of the calf, including problems that may be encountered during the birthing process and how to handle them. Includes a plethora of black and white illustrations, photographs and sidebars containing extra information and real life examples. Includes appendices with basic cattle health information, anatomy and medicines, a glossary, and further resources. See also Thomas’ other book, The Cattle Health Handbook.
, Articles & Databases
, Biological Sciences
, Business, Labor, and Economics
, Cell & Molecular Biology
, Computer Science & Statistics
, Criminology & Criminal Justice
, Environmental & Natural Resource Economics
, Film Studies
, Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science
, General & Reference
, General Library Information
, Hot Topics
, Internet Resources
, Labor Relations & Human Resources
, Landscape Architecture
, Life Sciences, Marine & Environment
, Natural Resources
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Plant Sciences
, Political Science
, Rhode Island and New England
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.