Skip to main content
Companion animals : their biology, care, health, and management
Call Number: SF413 C36 2009
Covers the care of a variety of companion animals, including rodents and horses, though special attention is paid to dogs and cats. Special chapters explain proper training techniques of these animals as well as preparing for a show. The last chapters are concerned with companion animal industries and careers in these fields. Contains a glossary and many pictures and illustrations; each chapter ends with a bibliography and recommended Internet sources.
Dogs: a dictionary of dog breeds
Call Number: Ref SF422 M66 2002
Divides up different breeds of dogs by their historical use, as well as a section on wild and rare canines. Entries are typically short and describe the breed’s history and development, and its defining physical characteristics if applicable. Alternate names are also noted. Most entries contain references and a lengthy bibliography is included.
Dictionary of canine terms
Call Number: Ref SF422 J33 1995
Contains concise definitions of words and names pertaining to canines. Topics represented include breeds, medical conditions, anatomy, behaviors and more. Includes bibliography and guide to reading entries.
Cat world : a feline encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref SF442.2 M67 1997
A book covering many aspects of felines including descriptions of breeds and behaviors as well as entries on cats in popular culture and mythology. Most entries include cross references for further information and there are illustrations throughout, many full-color.
Exotic and Lab Animals
Exotic animal care & management
Call Number: Ref SF997.5 E95 J83 2008
Suitable for animal science students and pet owners alike, this book describes proper care of many types of exotic animals including degus, sugar gliders, and llamas. Common medical problems are also mentioned for each. Each chapter includes color pictures, sidebars with useful or interesting information, and is concluded with review questions and recommendations for further reading. Also includes a glossary and list of animal and veterinary organizations.
Handbook of laboratory animal management and welfare
Call Number: SF406 W64 2003
The first section deals with the practical concerns of keeping laboratory animals healthy and content. Much emphasis is placed on proper licensing and regulation compliance. The second section discusses the behavior and care of various animals commonly used species including primates, birds, and amphibians. *Please be aware that this book is published in the UK, thus the laws and regulations are from that country.*
Other Large Animals
American bison : a natural history
Call Number: QL737 U53 L68 2002
Very readable book about bison that covers more than just their history. Other topics include social relationships, breeding, and behavior; attempts to tame buffalo, conservation efforts and more are also related. Basic information is provided on other animals which share their habitat, including wolves and prairie dogs. Includes black and white photos and a bibliography.
Raising emus and ostriches
Call Number: A 17.24:97-06
Publication Date: 1997
Published by the National Agricultural Library, this bibliography lists many links and citations for resources on the husbandry of ratites. Internet sources were last revised in 2009.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.