Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Contact us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(Please allow 1 business day for a response)
Other Types of Microbiology
Food microbiology : an introduction by
Call Number: QR115 M625 2005
Covers many practical aspects of food microbiology. Different types of harmful bacteria and their effects on human physiology as well as topics such as fermentation, probiotics, and food preservation. Each chapter includes suggestions for further reading, a variety of figures, tables and other illustrations, and author’s notes for additional facts and information.
Encyclopedia of environmental microbiology by
Call Number: Ref QR100 B58 2002
An introduction at the beginning of the first volume explains the different areas of microbiology which are considered environmental and are included in this series. Each entry is typically several pages in length, covering topics very thoroughly with many pertinent figures and lengthy bibliographies. All are signed by the one or more authors with their respective affiliations. 6 volumes.
The Dictionary of Environmental Microbiology by
Call Number: Ref QR100 S74 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-10
Contains very concise definitions of terms related to the field. Cross referencing and black and white illustrations are utilized throughout.
Encyclopedia of Parasitology by
Call Number: Ref QL757 E64 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Contains articles of varying length about types of parasites, the diseases they cause, and other terms related to their biology, diagnosis and treatment in animals and humans. References and generous use of black and white figures, tables, and illustrations throughout. 2 volumes.
What's Eating You? by
Call Number: QL757 K365 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-15
Written by a professor emeritus from Hofstra University, this book is an immensely readable jaunt through a wide variety of parasites that can affect humans and animals. Each chapter is a miniature case study covering the causes, effects on the body and treatments for a particular type of parasite. Clear black and white illustrations at the end of each chapter are provided as is a glossary and a list of references.
Illustrated dictionary of immunology by
Call Number: Ref QR180.4 C78 2003
Contains definitions of terms used in the study and practice of immunology. A fair amount of illustrations are present throughout. Several appendices end the text on such topics as graphs depicting the receptors for various molecules and a chart explaining known CD markers in mice.
Atlas of Immunology by
Call Number: Ref QR182 C78 2003
Publication Date: 2003-12-29
Broken down into 28 chapters covering all aspects of immunology, from its history to diagnostics. Each chapter contains a description of the overall topic and then (typically) short paragraphs of the terms that are necessary to understand to have a full grasp of said topic. Many black and white figures and illustrations throughout and written on a level that is suitable for all students and researchers.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.