Skip to main content
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)
General & Reference
A free app for searching premium EBSCOhost database content, provided courtesy of the URI Libraries. To activate the app, use the URI Libraries' web pages to access any EBSCO database, and use the link at the bottom to send an activation email.
Mobile interface that allows you to search, view, and manage your personal database, view attachments, and add new references. If you are not on campus or not connected to URI's wifi network, you will need to enter the Group Code before you log in.
While on the go or away from your desk, tap into SpringerLink to access one of the largest collections of scientific information.
Search libraries worldwide for books and other materials. Allow site to access your location information to see what nearby libraries have the item.
Free mobile app provides users with access to the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary anywhere among other features. Premium/paid version also available. Also available is the free Merriam-Webster Dictionary for iPad
as well as a premium version.
Free mobile app provides easy access to Howstuffworks.com content such as articles, blogs, podcasts, and more that explain how everything actually works. App also available for iPad
Free mobile app for citation management as well as saving and reading articles as PDFs within the app.
A mobile app for free online lessons covering a variety of topics including math, science, computer programming, history and more.
Free mobile app that allows Apple users to scan documents using their device's camera. PDFs created are editable and searchable. Paid premium version also available.
Government, Politics & Law
Budget of the United States Government
Provides access to the text and images of the current fiscal year Budget book, including the Budget Message of the President, information on the President's priorities, and budget overviews organized by agency. Summary tables are available in PDF format.
Congressional Record (iPad)
"The Congressional Record delivered through the app is a PDF document that can be shared via email and be able to be browsed by date and searchable by keyword within an individual document or section; documents can also be saved to the iPad. Content includes Congressional Record issues dating from January 4, 1995 through the present."
Provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts).
Authoritative consumer health information from MedlinePlus.gov in a mobile-optimized Web site that includes summaries for over 800 diseases, conditions and wellness topics as well as the latest health news, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, and information on prescription and over-the-counter medications. Available via the Web browser of any mobile device.
Provides a simplified, mobile-friendly Web interface to access PubMed. PubMed contains millions of article citations from thousands of biomedical journals. Many citations include abstracts.
The Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library provides this app which features the Cochrane Systematic Reviews. App content is free and includes podcasts, reviews, tables, images and more related to evidence-based resources. Users can read and access content offline. Available for iPad only.
Free mobile app for Prescribers' Digital Reference. Provides information on prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
Physical and Mathematical Sciences
AMS Electronic Publications
Allows users to access the University's AMS subscriptions while off network. For details, see the linked page.
Free mobile app that lets users search the ChemSpider chemical database provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Free mobile app for American Chemical Society Web Editions. Full-text access to the latest four years of the journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Arts and Humanities
IMDB.com (Internet Movie Database)
Free mobile app allows you to search for information about movies and television shows including director, cast lists, year released, and much more! Available on multiple platforms.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Free app to stream videos available through Kanopy on your mobile device. Also available for Roku, Chromecast, Amazon tablets, and Apple TV.
Free mobile app for Mango Languages, which is available to users with an Ocean State Library card. Offers self-directed language instruction in 22 languages. Instruction focuses on everyday conversational skills.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.