Skip to main content
Reference sources for peaceful activists and political leaders.
Call Number: E747 .A678 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
A 2 volume encyclopedia filled with information on 150 famous activists, subversives, and "prisoners of conscience." Entries are over 2,000 words long and include both praise and criticism of the individual and their subversive activities. Entries listed alphabetically by last name, vol. 2 includes an index & bibliography.
American Peace Writers, Editors, and Periodicals
Call Number: URI Ref JX1962 A2 R63 1991
Publication Date: 1991-06-30
The product of meticulous research, this reference dictionary brings together a rich collection of material on the writers, editors, social reformers, and publications that have shaped American pacifist tradition since colonial times. The only work of its kind, it contains entries for some 400 individuals and more than 200 periodicals that represent viewpoints ranging from radical nonresistance, religious pacifism, and racial nonviolence to selective anti-war sentiments. Each entry summarizes the individual's literary contributions and lists known affiliations with periodicals, peace organizations, and religious groups.
Call Number: URI Ref CT215 A67 1985
Publication Date: 1985-01-01
A compilation of peacemakers, political leaders, reformers and activists in America.
Icons of African American Protest
Call Number: URI Ref E185.96 K56 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Comes in 2 volumes. Contains information on icons of the civil rights movement such as Ella Baker, Elaine Brown, Stokely Carmichael, Angela Davis, W.E.B. Du Bois, James Farmer, Louis Farrakhan, Marcus Garvey, Fannie Lou Hamer, Dorothy Height, Jesse Jackson, Martin Luther King, Jr., Spike Lee, John Lewis, Malcolm X, Thurgood Marshall, Huey P. Newton, Rosa Parks, A. Philip Randolph, Al Sharpton, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Roy Wilkins, Robert F. Williams, Whitney Young, etc.
Leaders from the 1960s
Call Number: URI Ref Z7164 S66 L43 1994
Publication Date: 1994-06-30
Contains reference information on racial democracy, peace and freedom, sexuality and gender, environmental activism, radical culture, visions of alternative societies, etc.
Peace Movement Organizations and Activists in the U. S.
Call Number: Z6464 Z9 P4 1991
Publication Date: 1991-02-19
"Focusing on the post-World War II years with particular attention to the 1980’s, this volume is an extensive bibliography of books categorized into six categories by theory: transcenders, educators, intellectuals, politicians, protestors, and prophets” (from Amazon).
Ebook sources for peaceful activists & political leaders.
Working for Peace and Justice
Call Number: eBook available via ProjectMuse
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
A professor emeritus at University at Albany, SUNY, Lawrence Wittner tells his personal story that includes "some of the most turbulent and significant events of recent history." Wittner has been on the front lines of peace activism movements his whole life fighting for racial equality, supporting struggles of the labor movement and leading anti nuclear war marches in the streets of Hiroshima.
Community, Violence, and Peace
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Community, Violence and Peace explores "the concept of community and the belief that it can resolve the dilemmas of excessive violence and insufficient peace in the twenty-first century." In this text Herman argues that "substituting communal egoism for communal altruism will settle the predicament of violence and peace in the twenty-first century."
Ava Helen Pauling
Call Number: eBook available via ProjectMuse
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Ava Helen Pauling was a civil rights activist, a self-described feminist, an anti nuclear testing activist, and a steward for peace and protection of the environment.
, Articles & Databases
, Biological Sciences
, Business, Labor, and Economics
, Cell & Molecular Biology
, Computer Science & Statistics
, Criminology & Criminal Justice
, Environmental & Natural Resource Economics
, Film Studies
, Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science
, General & Reference
, General Library Information
, Hot Topics
, Internet Resources
, Labor Relations & Human Resources
, Landscape Architecture
, Life Sciences, Marine & Environment
, Natural Resources
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Plant Sciences
, Political Science
, Rhode Island and New England
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.