Skip to main content
, Articles & Databases
, Biological Sciences
, Business, Labor, and Economics
, Cell & Molecular Biology
, Computer Science & Statistics
, Criminology & Criminal Justice
, Environmental & Natural Resource Economics
, Film Studies
, Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science
, General & Reference
, General Library Information
, Hot Topics
, Internet Resources
, Labor Relations & Human Resources
, Landscape Architecture
, Life Sciences, Marine & Environment
, Natural Resources
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Plant Sciences
, Political Science
, Rhode Island and New England
Introduction to Physical Hydrology
Call Number: GB661.2 H46 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-26
Covers the flow of water, with particular attention to atmospheric, ground, soil, and surface water. Stresses the physical and mathematical concepts behind the subject, while also providing informational boxes and figures throughout. Exercises are also offered to assist in understanding with the answers provided in the back of the book. Appendices review many of the given equations and there are several pages of references.
Environmental Hydrology and Hydraulics
Call Number: TC409 G52 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-03
Discusses the science and practical application of hydrology with an eye towards sustainability. A separate chapter addresses related natural disasters and their management. Numerous national and international examples of the topics throughout are presented along with many black and white illustrations, figures, and charts. References are provided after each chapter and there is an appendix with example problems and their solutions.
Integrated Watershed Management
Call Number: TC409 G684 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
The first several chapters explore current issues related to watershed management, both physically and through laws and policies. The latter part deals with hydrology processes, the monitoring and evaluating of systems and even information on conducting research in the field. Many tables, graphs, and real-life examples exist throughout. Appendices address such topics as computer simulations and Geographic Information Systems (GIS).
Call Number: TC423 .B68 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-31
With particular emphasis on coastal Florida and Texas, this book not only discusses the impact of floods, but also the environmental and man-made factors that can either help cause or reduce the amount of flooding in a given area. A secondary emphasis is placed on the need for adaptable flood mitigation policies. Includes generous use of maps and charts as well as providing several pages of references.
Healthy Soils for Sustainable Gardens
Call Number: S596.75 H43 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-07
Though written by professionals in the field, this concise and informative book is written in a straightforward, easy to read style. Covers the physical and chemical makeup of different types of soil with hints on what types of plants grow best in each. Also includes chapters on composting, fertilizing and planting specific types of plants, from lawns to roses. Includes recommended sources and lots of full color photos.
Call Number: S591 S746 2009
A four volume series with each volume covering a large aspect of soil science, including: Soil in Space and Time, Soil Properties and Processes, Soil Use and Management, and The Role of Soils in Sustaining Society and the Environment. Each entry is a reprint of an article from various scholarly journals. All contain a list of references and several supporting illustrations, graphs, charts, etc. Each index is specific to its volume.
Encyclopedia of soil science
Call Number: Ref S592 S53 2008
Contains entries on all manner of terms relating to soil science. Length varies, from one paragraph to several pages, and all entries contain a bibliography and often cross references. Multipage articles make generous use of charts, graphs and diagrams and are signed by the author. Ends with an author and subject index.
Soils, Plants and Clay Minerals
Call Number: S592.5 V45 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-15
Provides a very thorough variety of chapters concerning the interactions between soil, plants, and minerals. Ecological and especially physical/chemistry aspects are included, backed by many charts and black and white illustrations to reinforce concepts. The end of each section provides a list of references. Best for students and researchers with some previous knowledge of soil and/or plant science.
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.