Skip to main content
Finding History Journal Articles
There are several databases that can help you locate articles on History-related topics. For more information on these and other applicable databases, please stop by the Reference Desk.
History-related databases are listed under URI Library > Articles & Databases > History, but it is a good idea to peruse some of the other subject areas as they may have databases that cover your topic.
You can get to a complete list of databases from: URI Library > Articles & Databases.
America: History and Life (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1910-. Updated monthly.
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
Finding Articles from "Rhode Island History"
Index to "Rhode Island History"
This link takes you to a search screen where you can search the contents of the journal "Rhode Island History" by author, article title, or date. Results include links to PDFs of the journal containing the article.
Where to Start Your Book Search
There are three main places to start your search for books. Each has a different specialty and scope.
URI Libraries Search
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Freely available version of WorldCat, listing books and other materials in member libraries worldwide. Updated daily.
Offers a somewhat random search of books scattered across the country. Some full text searching of books, and some full text viewing of out-of-copyright materials. You may be able to request books viewed via Interlibrary Loan.
Much like Google Books, this contains scans of a variety of books held in libraries internationally.
Encyclopedias & Reference Books
Rhode Island, a bibliography of its history
Call Number: Providence Campus Reference Z1331 R58 1983
Another copy is available in Reference in Kingston. For harder-to-find historical topics, this is an excellent source of citations to articles and other materials on Rhode Island's history.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.