Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering Databases
These databases contain articles and resources useful for various aspects of electrical, computer, and biomedical engineering. While general databases such as Academic Search Complete can be useful for broad topics, the databases listed below are better tools for technical research into specific disciplines like electrical, computer, or biomedical engineering.
Offered by the NEC Laboratories America and Penn State’s School of Information Sciences and Technology, this database is a free, full-text index of computer science research articles. Allows for citation searching and linking. Updated daily.
Indexing and abstracts of professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1970-. Updated weekly. Links to articles open in a pop-up window, so you will need to deactivate the pop-up blocker on your browser to connect to full text.
Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), this database indexes and provides abstracts for technical reports in energy-related disciplines. Includes links to full text when available. 1948-.
A collection of of more than 750,000 citations and abstracts from 3,000+ publishers, including works published by ACM and other publishers. Coverage includes books, journal articles, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and technical support. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the Guide.
Full-text access to IEEE journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings from approximately 125 of the most important IEEE conferences, and selected e-books. Also includes IEEE Spectrum Magazine. Browse tables of contents or search by author or keyword.
Inspec provides abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical literature. Inspec provides coverage from over 3,400 journals, 2,000 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports in the subject areas of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, and production, mechanical engineering, and more. This database is produced by the IET. 1969-.
ScienceDirect is a collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users from 1995 to the present. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Indexes 1,600 key chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering journals and selectively indexes 8,000 more, plus conference proceedings, patents, technical reports, and other materials. Also contains information on chemical substances and reactions, regulations, and chemical suppliers. 1907-. Updated daily. Access restricted to URI students, faculty, and staff; for instructions on setting up an account, click more link.
To use this index: you must be a URI student, staff, or faculty member with a valid email address ending in "uri.edu." You will need to go to the CAS registration site from a URI computer and set up an account with CAS. The password selection process requires close attention to the password criteria and may take several tries. Successful registration results in an email with a link which you must click to finish registration.
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
Full text and image database of all patents granted by the Office back to 1790. Patents issued since 1976 may be searched by key word in the full text. Patents issued prior to 1976 may be searched by patent numbers or classification codes only.
Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.
If we're not online, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.