Skip to main content
Listed below are sources and finding aids for treaties which cover issues of concern to all nations or which are drawn up by an international agency. The United States may or may not be a signatory.
Public International Law in a Nutshell
Call Number: URI REF KZ3410 B84 2013
Publication Date: 2013
This title offers a basic introduction to the doctrines, institutions, and methodologies of public international law. Chapter 5 deals specifically with international law of treaties.
Handbook of International Law
Call Number: URI REF KZ3410 A97 2010
Publication Date: 2010
This concise title offers overviews of various aspects international law. Chapter 5 deals specifically with treaties. Includes table of treaties, bibliographic references, and index.
Major International Treaties, 1914-1973
Call Number: URI REF JX171 G74
Publication Date: 1974
History and analysis of the major bilateral and multilateral treaties of this time period includes text of the treaties discussed. First chapter serves as a good introduction on the structure, role, and impact of treaties. Index by country and name of treaty
Treaties and Alliances of the World 8th Ed
Call Number: URI REF KZ1301 .T72 2007
Publication Date: 2007
This volume provides an introduction to treaties and alliances of the world. Each chapter focuses on specific aspects including the United Nations system, international economic organizations and agreements, commodities and fisheries, the environment, arms control and disarmament, NATO, and geographic limiters. Includes index.
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexing of journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. 1914-. Updated monthly.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law
Guide to research sources in international law. Includes treaties, reports, library catalogs, bibliographies, web sites, and commercial databases. The arrangement is by "chapters" that are easy to navigate.
EISIL: Electronic Information System for International Law
Database of primary sources for international law in electronic format including treaties and treaty collections. Arranged by topic. "Treaty Collections" is one topic but treaties may also be found under the other topics. Each entry includes citation, date, status, language of text, brief description of the treaty and a link to the full text.
ENTRI: Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators
Provided by the Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network, ENTRI is a comprehensive online search service for finding information about environmental treaties and natural resource indicators. Contains the full text of many treaties.
The Multilaterals Project
This internet resource was prepared by the Fletcher School at Tufts University to make the text of multilateral conventions and other instruments available. It typically contains treaties dating from 1945 or later but there are some historical treaties. Searchable by subject. Includes links to other treaty resources.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.