Skip to main content
Finding the text of recent treaties, both proposed and ratified, is often difficult as most of the official sources are several years in arrears. The sources listed below are useful in tracking down the text of a recent or proposed treaty. Treaties and International Agreements Online is the best source for finding recent U.S. treaties, but finding non-U.S. treaties is problematic. Summaries of recent treaties can often be found on the Web site of the signatory's foreign affairs office or on the sponsoring international agency. Journal articles discussing a recent treaty can be located by searching the databases PAIS International and Lexis-Nexis Academic.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexing of journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. 1914-. Updated monthly.
EISIL: Electronic Information System for International Law
Database of primary sources for international law in electronic format including treaties and treaty collections. Arranged by topic. "Treaty Collections" is one topic but treaties may also be found under the other topics. Each entry includes citation, date, status, language of text, brief description of the treaty and a link to the full text.
The Multilaterals Project
This internet resource was prepared by the Fletcher School at Tufts University to make the text of multilateral conventions and other instruments available. It typically contains treaties dating from 1945 or later but there are some historical treaties. Searchable by subject. Includes links to other treaty resources.
Treaties in Force
A list of treaties and other international agreements of the United States in force. Updated annually.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.