Skip to main content
Examples of Reference Materials
Encyclopedias provide an overview of knowledge on important subjects. General unabridged dictionaries have good coverage of terms in Communication Studies, but are not as complete as dictionaries limited to a particular subject.
URI Libraries Search
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries. Search for communication AND dictionaries or communication AND encyclopedias to find more sources.
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating PE1591 M415 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Combining a reverse dictionary and a thesaurus, this title is useful for researchers seeking a descriptive or technical term, as well as when the meaning or subject is known but not the exact term; contains thousands of terms, described and organized into subject categories.
Dictionary of Media and Communications
Call Number: Carohers Library Reference - Non Circulating P87.5 D359 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Concise and clearly written with cross-references.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating P87.5 E496 2009
Publication Date: 2009
An overview of contemporary communication theory is presented. This is an excellent reference source for quick overviews of a specific theory or theorist and how they relate to the field as a whole.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating PN172 E52 2001
Publication Date: 2001
The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric is also available from the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf as an e-reference text. This work covers the techniques, principles, structure, and elements of rhetoric in literature, and communication with an emphasis on public speaking.
The International Encyclopedia of Communication
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating P87.5 I58 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This encyclopedia includes 1,339 original entries, covering communication research scholarship, evidence and methodology. Some specific areas of coverage include theories, communication and media phenomena, concepts, research methods, problems and geographical areas.
Resource descriptions adapted from: [WorldCat.org]. (n.d.). Retrieved February 27, 2018, from http://www.worldcat.org/search
Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.
If we're not online, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.