Skip to main content
Geoscience Reference Books
The Field Guide to Geology
Call Number: URI REF QE28 L22 2007
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
This book is basically an overview of how the Earth was formed and the processes involved with it's formation. This book touches upon how the earth got its shape, the structure of the Earth's crust, the process by which the planet's rock where created and more. This new expanded edition also features how new technology has contributed to the study of the Earth as well as a chapter featuring an extensive list of geological museums, collections web sites and geological associations. The book also contains photographs, an index, charts, graphs, maps and illustrations.
Dictionary of Geology and Mineralogy
Call Number: URI REF QE5 M3654 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-27
This dictionary covers every discipline of geology and mineralogy covering more than 9,000 essential terms relating to the subject. The information is the book is listed alphabetically with each entry having a definition, synonyms, acronyms, & abbreviations. This book also contains an appendix with tables full of helpful geological information.
Geology of Eastern North America
Call Number: URI REF QE78.3 R62 1996
Publication Date: 1996-10-14
A field guide to interpreting different rocks and land formations throughout North America. This guide will help provide geological information from mountains to small rocks, how they were formed and why they are there and where they are located throughout America. This guide will also provide useful information on landscapes, local road cuts, bedrock, the Canadian Shield, why roads crack, and so much more. Contains pictures, an index and an appendix.
Call Number: URI REF QE501 E27 2003
Publication Date: 2003-10-06
This book is beautifully illustrated with hundreds of photos of geological images from all over the world. Each entry has a corresponding photograph to help the user understand the topics being covered in the book. The contents of this book are separated into different sections, those sections are "Planet Earth," "Land," "Ocean," "Atmosphere," and "Tectonic Earth." There is also a helpful glossary and index at the back of the book.
The Oxford Companion to the Earth
Call Number: URI REF QE5 O94 2000
Publication Date: 2001-06-07
A huge reference book containing 900 alphabetically listed entries covering a wide range of topics relating to the study of the geosciences. This book contains information on everything from tornadoes, droughts, mineralogy, lakes, mountains, oil, diamonds, acid rain and hundreds of other entries. This vast text has over 200 different contributors and it is illustrated with over 600 pictures, including 16 pages of color plates. There is an appendix, reference & further reading sources and an index.
Encyclopedia of Earth and Physical Sciences
Call Number: URI REF QE5 E513 1998
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
This 11 volume encyclopedia contains a wealth of information regarding major earth and physical science topics. The articles are arranged alphabetically in all ten volumes with a separate index for searching a topic in the eleventh volume. Each entry contains illustrations, pictures, reference sources, further reading suggestions and much more.
Call Number: URI REF HC103.7 N278 1998
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
Natural resources are any naturally occurring phenomena such as trees, flowing water, and minerals like iron, coal, stone, or oil. This resource is a list of all kinds of different natural resources on the earth. According to the text, this book "serves as a bridge connecting the domains of resource exploitation, environmentalism, geology, and biology, and explains their interrelationships in easily understandable terms for the nonspecialist. This three volume set contain reference sources, photos, an index, and a bibliography. All entries are listed alphabetically and there is a helpful list of entries buy subject heading section at the end of volume 3 for more convenient searches of the entire set.
Treatise on Geochemistry
Call Number: URI REF QE515 T64 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-04
This massive 10 volume set contains information on all things relating to the study of Geochemistry. There are separate volumes focusing on meteorites, comets & planets, the earth's core, the earth's crust, the atmosphere, ground water & soil, the ocean,sediments, bio-geochemistry, and environmental geochemistry. This set contains hundreds of color photographs, charts, tables, and reference sources at the end of each entry for further reading. Volume 10 is a separate cumulative subject index for all of the volumes with an author index as well.
, Civil & Environmental Engineering
, Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering
, Engineering & Technology
, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
, Mechanical Engineering
, Ocean Engineering
, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.