Need Help?
Chemical Engineering Databases
These databases contain articles and resources applicable to various aspects of chemical engineering. While general databases such as Academic Search Complete can be useful for broad topics, the databases listed below are better tools for technical research into a specific discipline like chemical engineering.
- American Chemical Society Web Editions This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text access to the latest four years of the journals published by the American Chemical Society. Browse tables of contents or search for current or archival articles by author or keyword.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? From the Royal Society of Chemistry. Access to physical data on over 25 million compounds. Search by chemical name, synonym, trade name, registry number, SMILES, InChI, CSID, structure image, chemical elements, properties, and more.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles in professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1884 - Present. Updated weekly.
- What else should I know? Links to articles open in a pop-up window, so you will need to deactivate the pop-up blocker on your browser to connect to full text.
- OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Indexes Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored scientific and technical reports. It provides access to all the information previously available in SciTech Connect, DOE Information Bridge, and Energy Citations Database. Replaces the print publication Energy Research Abstracts. Updated weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1995 - Present.
- Energy Citations Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), this database indexes and provides abstracts for technical reports in energy-related disciplines. Includes links to full text when available.
- What dates are covered? 1948 - Present.
- FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA) provides access to citations and abstracts dealing with all human food commodities and food processing (except for the production of raw food). Topics covered include microbiology, toxicology and hygiene, economics and statistics, engineering, packaging, and many food products. FSTA indexes articles, patents, standards, books, conference proceedings, research reports, dissertations, and legislation. Updated weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1969 - Present
- IEEE Xplore (IEEE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text access to IEEE journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings from approximately 125 of the most important IEEE conferences, and selected e-books. Also includes IEEE Spectrum Magazine and the IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive 1936-1999.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical literature. Provides coverage from over 3,400 journals, 2,000 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports in the subject areas of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, and production, mechanical engineering, and more.
- What dates are covered? 1898 - Present.
- What else should I know? This database is produced by the IET.
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A title keyword index to over 750,000 NTIS reports, datafiles, CD-ROMs, and audiovisual materials.
- What dates are covered? 1990 - Present.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
- What dates are covered? 1995 - Present.
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service, CAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to 1,600 key chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering journals and selectively cites to 8,000 more, plus conference proceedings, patents, technical reports, and other materials. Also contains information on chemical substances and reactions, regulations, and chemical suppliers. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1907 - Present.
- What else should I know? To use this index: you must be a URI student, staff, or faculty member with a valid email address ending in "uri.edu." You will need to go to the CAS registration site from a URI computer and set up an account with CAS. The password selection process requires close attention to the password criteria and may take several tries. Successful registration results in an email with a link which you must click to finish registration.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full text and image database of all patents granted by the Office back to 1790. Patents issued since 1976 may be searched by key word in the full text. Patents issued prior to 1976 may be searched by patent numbers or classification codes only.
- What dates are covered? 1790 - Present.
- Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
Online Resources
- Current Industrial Reports. Monthly, quarterly, or annualProduction and consumption statistics on inorganic chemicals, industrial gases, and pharmaceutical preparations. Formerly in paper at Govt Pub C3.158: (see individual titles).
- NIST Chemistry WebBook
- This link opens in a new window
Enter formula, name, CAS number, structure, ion energetics, vibrational and electronic spectra, or author to retrieve thermodynamic, spectral, and other data. - Thomas Register of American Manufacturers. Annual.Lists equipment by type. Includes chemical substances, manufacturers listed in geographic order under each entry. Company profiles provide information on manufacturers.