Skip to main content
Scholarly & Research Articles
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of countries other than the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present. 1955-. Updated monthly.
Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
ITER Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
A bibliography of materials relating to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (700-1700). Includes citations to books and journal articles as well as to dissertation abstracts and essays in books.
BSI is an international iconographic index of baptismal fonts from the early Christian period to the 17th century made available via the World Wide Web for scholarly research in a searchable electronic format which contains both images and text.
Search or browse over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Popular Media & Newspaper Articles
New York Times Article Archive
Search the complete backfile of The New York Times by keyword, author, or headline. Includes articles, advertisements, and listings through 1995; articles only after 1995. Full content in PDF format (1851-1995) or text-only format (1996-) may be purchased online. (Note that articles are also available on microfilm in many libraries and online in library databases.) 1851-. Updated daily.
Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards (Gale Cengage)
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (of London). Includes every complete page of every issue from 1785.
Digital archive of over two million images, texts, sounds, and videos from libraries, museums, and archives across Europe.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Provides links to primary source documents - mostly European - about Early Modern Europe, Europe in the 19th Century, and the Modern World.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Resource provided by the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies.
British Pathé Archive (YouTube)
Contains 85,000 historical newsreels, all uploaded to YouTube in HD format. Includes archival war footage, fashion, and additional cultural footage.
European History Primary Sources
A project from the European University Institute, this provides a portal to digitized primary sources. You can subscribe to get updates on new materials.
Encyclopedias & Reference Resources
Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.--A.D. 1000
Call Number: URI Reference D62 A52 2004 v.1-v.2
Publication Date: 2003
Arranged by time period and topic rather than alphabetical order, this provides lengthy essays on a variety of topics. Articles include bibliographies, and Black and white and color illustrations of some topics are available.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
Call Number: URI Reference DC33.7 E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998-06-24
Articles in this encyclopedia cover all facets of French culture from 1945 to the present. Contributors are primarily from academic institutions in Europe.
Europe Since 1945
Call Number: D1058 E8754 2001 v. 1 and v. 2
Publication Date: 2001
Covering Eastern and Western Post-War Europe, this encyclopedia provides definitions, background, and bibliographies for further research.
Call Number: URI Ref DD17 B54 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Entries record critical events, terms, people, and issues spanning over 500 years of German history. Contains a chronology of significant events and detailed narrative outlines of essential facts. Maps display information such as territorial divides and major battle locations in various important time periods.
Call Number: URI Reference DC33.2 M44 1995
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
This one-volume encyclopedia contains short articles on the history of medieval France. Articles are written by researchers, and are accompanied by bibliographies, as well as maps and illustrations where applicable.
Call Number: URI Ref DD126 M43 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-10
Covers political, social, and intellectual history of medieval German areas of Europe from C.E. 500-1500. Entries focus on major people, places, events, art, and intellectual trends, as well as day-to-day life. Contains illustrations, maps, and an index.
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: URI Reference D114 O94 2010 v.1 - v.4
Publication Date: 2010
Although titled a dictionary, this is a multi-volume set written by researchers and historians. Articles often provide bibliographies to further sources and illustrations.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.