Skip to main content
Scholarly & Research Articles
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of countries other than the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present. 1955-. Updated monthly.
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Resource for the study of the Islamic world. Includes thousands of articles from major Oxford reference works, hundreds of primary documents, translations of the Qur’an and Hanna E. Kassiss’ Concordance of the Quran, maps and images, and links to trustworthy external websites.
Popular Media & Newspaper Articles
National Newspapers Core (ProQuest)
Indexing, abstracts, and full text of The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage varies by publication but generally begins in 1980s. Updated daily.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCOhost)
Access almost 100 years of cultural history with citations to over 3 million articles that appeared in 373 leading U.S. magazines as far back as 1890.
New York Times Article Archive
Search the complete backfile of The New York Times by keyword, author, or headline. Includes articles, advertisements, and listings through 1995; articles only after 1995. Full content in PDF format (1851-1995) or text-only format (1996-) may be purchased online. (Note that articles are also available on microfilm in many libraries and online in library databases.) 1851-. Updated daily.
Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards (Gale Cengage)
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (of London). Includes every complete page of every issue from 1785.
Encyclopedias & Reference Resources
Cambridge History of Islam
Call Number: URI Reference DS35.6 C3
Publication Date: 1971-01-02
A core resource in Islamic history, this two volume set includes thematic essays on the history of Islam.
Continuum Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East
Call Number: URI REF DS62.8 P64 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of political events informing the modern Middle East including information on events, political movements, conflicts, and more.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East
Call Number: URI Ref DS43 E53 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Four volume encyclopedia describing the modern Middle East including the conflicts between Arabs and Israelis, key figures, important historical events, places, and cultural information.
Historical Atlas of Jerusalem
Call Number: URI Reference DS109.9 B455 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Historical atlas including maps, pictures, and historical information on Jerusalem covering the years 3000 B.C.E-2000.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East
Call Number: URI Reference DS56 O9 1997
Publication Date: 1996-11-28
Comprehensive academic encyclopedia providing information on archaeological sites, discoveries, and more. Articles include illustrations, diagrams, and bibliographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
Call Number: URI Reference DS35.53 O96 2009 v.1-v.6
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia covers a broad array of topics from politics and law to history, culture, and society. Articles are accompanied by bibliographies, illustrations, and maps.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.