Skip to main content
Research Help @ the Providence Campus
For further information, please call:
Newspapers & Magazines
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 (EBSCOhost)
From the extensive collection at the American Antiquarian Society, this full-text digital collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877.
African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998 (America's Historical Newspapers)
More than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles.
National Newspapers Core (ProQuest)
Indexing, abstracts, and full text of The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage varies by publication but generally begins in 1980s. Updated daily.
New York Times Article Archive
Search the complete backfile of The New York Times by keyword, author, or headline. Includes articles, advertisements, and listings through 1995; articles only after 1995. Full content in PDF format (1851-1995) or text-only format (1996-) may be purchased online. (Note that articles are also available on microfilm in many libraries and online in library databases.) 1851-. Updated daily.
Providence Journal Archives (Newsbank)
Database of articles published in the Providence Journal written by Journal staff. Search results provide the headline, date, author, and a few lines of article text. The electronic full text of articles is available for a fee. (Articles are also available on microfilm at most Rhode Island libraries). 1981-. Updated daily. Access is also available through Providence Public Library
if you have a PPL library card.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCOhost)
Access almost 100 years of cultural history with citations to over 3 million articles that appeared in 373 leading U.S. magazines as far back as 1890.
Original Sources & Archives
American West (Adam Matthew)
Original manuscripts, ephemeral material (trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets etc), maps, and rare printed works from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
African Online Digital Library
"The African Online Digital Library (AODL) is a portal to multimedia collections about Africa. MATRIX, working in cooperation with the African Studies Center at Michigan State University, is partnering with universities and cultural heritage organizations in Africa to build this resource."
The African-American Mosaic
A digital exhibit from the Library of Congress, this site includes a variety of primary source material, organized chronologically and thematically.
Africans in America (PBS)
Created to accompany the PBS series, this website includes primary source documentation of the African experience in the United States.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The DPLA serves as a portal to the openly available, digitized contents of America’s libraries, archives, and museums. It indexes materials in all formats.
Collection of primary source material from the Schomburg Center at the New York Public Library.
FBI: The Vault - Black Extremist • COINTELPRO
The FBI's archive of original documents related to the COINTELPRO investigation.
Who Speaks for the Negro? (Vanderbilt University)
Tapes and transcripts of the interviews that went into Robert Penn Warren's book "Who Speaks for the Negro?" -- an early group of interviews with central Civil Rights figures.
, Articles & Databases
, Biological Sciences
, Business, Labor, and Economics
, Cell & Molecular Biology
, Computer Science & Statistics
, Criminology & Criminal Justice
, Environmental & Natural Resource Economics
, Film Studies
, Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science
, General & Reference
, General Library Information
, Hot Topics
, Internet Resources
, Labor Relations & Human Resources
, Landscape Architecture
, Life Sciences, Marine & Environment
, Natural Resources
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Plant Sciences
, Political Science
, Rhode Island and New England
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.