Skip to main content
There are several databases that can help you locate articles on History-related topics. For more information on these and other applicable databases, please stop by the Info & Research Help Desk.
All Arts & Humanities Databases
This provides a list of all of the Arts & Humanities article databases at URI. Depending on your research topic, you find relevant results by searching some of these as well.
America: History and Life (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1910-. Updated monthly.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of countries other than the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present. 1955-. Updated monthly.
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.