Skip to main content
Finding Pre-1983 Providence Journal and Evening Bulletin Articles
African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998 (America's Historical Newspapers)
More than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles.
National Newspapers Core (ProQuest)
Indexing, abstracts, and full text of The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage varies by publication but generally begins in 1980s. Updated daily.
New York Times Article Archive
Search the complete backfile of The New York Times by keyword, author, or headline. Includes articles, advertisements, and listings through 1995; articles only after 1995. Full content in PDF format (1851-1995) or text-only format (1996-) may be purchased online. (Note that articles are also available on microfilm in many libraries and online in library databases.) 1851-. Updated daily.
Providence Journal Archives (Newsbank)
Database of articles published in the Providence Journal written by Journal staff. Search results provide the headline, date, author, and a few lines of article text. The electronic full text of articles is available for a fee. (Articles are also available on microfilm at most Rhode Island libraries). 1981-. Updated daily. Access is also available through Providence Public Library
if you have a PPL library card.
Print Search Tools
Alternative Press Index, 1972-1995
The Alternative Press Index lists articles written on a broad range of topics and published in small and alternative press publications.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.