Skip to main content

Curriculum Materials Library: Praxis

An introduction to the CML at URI, its services, and resources.

CML Reference Services

Three Ways to get Research Help

Visit us @ the CML Reference Desk

Call us

CML Reference Desk: 401-874-4004


Online Assistance

Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.

If we're not online, please email us at Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.

What is Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators?

The Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators Tests are comprised of three parts:

  • Writing: This test has multiple-choice prompts about editing/revising and research strategies. There are also two writing prompts that assess argumentative and informative writing styles.
  • Reading: This test includes analysis of written passages in a variety of question styles.
  • Mathematics: This test includes numeric entry and multiple-choice questions. ETS provides an on-screen calculator for your convience.

Praxis Core Test Structure

The tests are administered on the computer, however accommodations are made for those who qualify. If all tests are taken at once, the test takes five hours to complete. Individually, the tests take two hours. During this time, tutorials and instructions are provided, as well as a ten minute break for those taking all three tests at once.

Why take the Praxis Core Exam?

The test is designed to evaluate candidates for teacher preparation programs. That being said, many colleges and universities require it to enter their education programs.

Studying for the Praxis I

This guide offers information about what to expect on the Praxis Pre-Professional Skills Test.  This guide includes information about the structure of the test, the subjects covered, and some test-taking strategies. 

What is the Praxis II?

Praxis II is not a single type of test. It is actually three different groups of tests. Confusing, right? Not really - keep reading.

What are the three groups of tests?

The three groups of tests are Subject Assessments, PLT, and Teaching Foundations.

  1. Subject Assessments measure teaching skills and your knowledge of a specific subject.
  2.  PLT stands for "Principles of Learning and Teaching". These tests measure how much you know about teaching theories and child development. There are four PLT tests based on the grade level you intend to teach: Early Childhood, K-6, 5-9 and 7-12.
  3. Teaching Foundations Tests measure your knowledge of teaching in six areas: English, Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Science and Multi-Subject (for elementary school teachers).

There are both multiple choice and essay questions for each group of tests.

Which test do I take?

College programs, public school systems and private schools have different testing requirements to obtain degrees, licensure and employment. Your best bet is to consult with your department head (if you are in school) or the school district you are applying to. It is recommended to consult more than one source if you are looking to get hired in a particular area. It is never too early to think ahead and plan!

Studying for the Praxis II

URI Specific Praxis Information

PRAXIS CORE EXAM - For admission to ALL teacher education programs

* If you have taken the SAT, ACT, or GRE tests, and your scores meet certain benchmarks, you may be exempt from part or all of the PRAXIS CORE EXAM

PRAXIS II - After Admission to Education Program

All students must take and pass licensure tests PRIOR TO student teaching or final internship. 

Most programs require at least 2 PRAXIS tests to be completed prior to student teaching.  For information about your specific program, please refer to the document below.

The most current information regarding program requirements is available on the School of Education website.  Find your Undergraduate/Graduate program here.  

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.