Suggested Search Terms
To find materials on this topic in the URI Libraries Search and Article Databases, try the following terms:
- Cyberterrorism
- Computer networks -- security measures
- Computers -- access control
- Information warfare
- Cloud computing -- Security measures
- Penetration testing (Computer security)
- Computer crimes -- prevention
- Hackers
- URI Libraries SearchLocate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Articles & Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- Guide to Computing Literature (ACM) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A collection of of more than 750,000 citations and abstracts from 3,000+ publishers, including works published by ACM and other publishers. Coverage includes books, journal articles, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and technical support. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the Guide.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles that offer news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Internet Resources
- Cybersecurity | Homeland SecurityProvides an overview of cybersecurity and cyberterrorism.
- Tips | US-CERTFrom the United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team. Provides tips for protecting yourself from cyberattacks, and also includes tools for recovering. It is aimed at non-technical users.
- Cybersecurity | American Civil Liberties UnionOutlines many of the civil liberties issues regarding cybersecurity, including access to personal data, the government's role, and more.
- Digital Attack MapFrom the About page: "Digital Attack Map is a live data visualization of DDoS attacks around the globe, built through a collaboration between Google Ideas and Arbor Networks. The tool surfaces anonymous attack traffic data to let users explore historic trends and find reports of outages happening on a given day."
- Security TrackerSecurity Tracker is a third-party database of the latest published vulnerabilities.
- National Vulnerability DatabaseThe National Vulnerability Database (NVD) is the US government database for standards based network vulnerabilities. NVD is maintained by the National Institute of Standards and Technology. NVD offers a vulnerability search engine, various feeds, and data visualizations.
Threat Post from Kaspersky Security
Loading ...
Created and Modified by
Amanda Izenstark, 7/15
Updated by Rick Tavares 7/17
Other Hot Topic Guides
- Hot Topic: Cybersecurity & Cyberterrorism
- Hot Topic: Electronic Health Record (EHR)
- Hot Topic: Gender Neutral Bathrooms
- Hot Topic: Internet Privacy
- Hot Topic: Kurdish Independence Movement
- Hot Topic: Obesity Epidemic
- Hot Topic: Regulation of the Financial Services Industry
- LGBTQ+ Resources
- News Literacy & Alternative Facts: How to Be a Responsible Information Consumer