Suggested Search Terms
An electronic health record (EHR) is a digital version of a patient’s paper chart. EHRs are real-time, patient-centered records that make information available instantly and securely to authorized users. (http://www.healthit.gov/providers-professionals/faqs/what-electronic-health-record-ehr)
To find materials on this topic in the URI Libraries Search and Article Databases, try the following terms:
- Electronic Health Record
- EHR
- Medical Records Data Processing
- Medical Informatics
- Electronic Medical Record
- EMR
- Computerized Patient Record
- Personal Health Record
- URI Libraries SearchLocate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Articles & Databases
For general articles, start with Academic Search Complete. Nursing and Allied Health students should search CINAHL, using the subject heading Computerized Patient Record. PubMed will have a lot of results for health sciences students. For news, magazine articles, law reviews, and state/federal cases use Nexis Uni.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- CINAHL (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials in nursing and allied health.
- What dates are covered? 1981-. Updated monthly.
- PubMed (linked to URI holdings) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. A service of the National Library of Medicine. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1947 - Present.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
Internet Resources
- What are the differences between electronic medical records, electronic health records, and personal health records?You will hear these terms used interchageably, but there are differences between an EHR, EMR and PHR. Read the whole story here! From HealthIT.gov.
- EHR IntelligenceOnline resource for news and product information about electronic health records, ICD-10, health information exchanges, and other issues facing ambulatory and acute care facilities.
- HIMSS - Electronic Health RecordsFrom the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society, a trade association of EHR comppanies. Contains news, events, standards, and case studies.
EHR Video from the CDC
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this session of Public Health Grand Rounds (July 2011) explores the issues of EHR implementation with particular attention to public and population health while addressing concerns of cost, patient confidentiality, and other challenges. Video length: 1:04:00
Heath IT Buzz - The Latest on Health Information Technology
From the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), this blog was created to answer questions about the nation’s transition to electronic health records.
The Latest in EHR Information from MedWorm
MedWorm is a medical RSS feed provider that collects updates from thousands of authoritative data sources. From the data collected, MedWorm provides new outgoing RSS feeds on various medical categories, such as this one on the topic of EHRs.
Created by
Madge Boldt, 01/2015
Other Hot Topic Guides
- Hot Topic: Cybersecurity & Cyberterrorism
- Hot Topic: Electronic Health Record (EHR)
- Hot Topic: Gender Neutral Bathrooms
- Hot Topic: Internet Privacy
- Hot Topic: Kurdish Independence Movement
- Hot Topic: Obesity Epidemic
- Hot Topic: Regulation of the Financial Services Industry
- LGBTQ+ Resources
- News Literacy & Alternative Facts: How to Be a Responsible Information Consumer