It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full text for over 8,500 journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers topics including: archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Updated daily. Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present.
Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and governmental, NGO, and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's.
"The Human Rights Campaign is the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer civil rights organization. The HRC works to educate the public on issues that transgender people face and to advocate for full inclusion and equality" (HRC, 216). Their website provides information on the trans community, violence, inclusion, and frequently asked questions.
The Unitarian Universalist Association works to create inclusive spaces for all people (UUA, 2015). This site provides information on the benefits of gender neutral bathrooms, how to create them, example of bathroom signs, and additional resources on safe bathrooms.
This report by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is meant to "provide guidance to employers on best practices regarding restroom access for transgender workers" (OSHA, 2015, p.1). Included are the reasons why restroom access is a health and safety matter, OSHA's Sanitation Standard, model practices, other federal, state, and local laws, and additional resources.
The Gender and Sexuality Center is located on the URI Kingston Campus. Their website contains a variety of resources, contacts, programs, and support for people, including information on transitioning.
This report addresses the gender neutral bathroom issue at URI. As a member of the LGBTQ community and aide for special needs children, the author hopes to support transgender students on campus who face harassment or even violence when using the gender-specific restrooms. She explains the benefits of having gender neutral bathrooms on the URI campus, as well as other college and universities, and how this could be put into place.