Peter Larsen
Climatology
Here are some general books relating to climatology that have a loose connection to the geosciences. Although themes such as paleoclimatic studies, global warming, meteorology, weather history and climate studies are mostly part of their own specific fields of study, it is helpful to know some of the sources that are available at the Carothers Library for further study concerning earth's environment, which can have scientific roots within the geological sciences.
Climate Change by Call Number: URI REF QC981.8 C5 C5114123 2008ISBN: 9781414436142Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather by Call Number: URI Reference QC854 .E523 2011 v. 1-3ISBN: 9780199765324Publication Date: 2011This three volume encyclopedia includes articles on various aspects of climate and weather. It includes a common abbreviations index, measures and conversions, and prefixes. Arranged alphabetically by topic. Index included in third volume.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming by Call Number: URI REF QC981.8 G56 D88 2010ISBN: 9781587655630Publication Date: 2009-12-01This 3 volume encyclopedia covers many topics relating to global warming with sections on the Arctic & Antarctic, climate events & epochs, glaciology, geology & geography, oceanography, pollution, geochemistry and much more. This set includes photos, graphs, maps, reference sources, a subject index, glossary, as well as a biographical dictionary of key figures in global warming studies.
The Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate Change by Call Number: URI REF QC854 E5258 2010ISBN: 9780520261013Publication Date: 2010-03-08
World Survey of Climatology by Call Number: URI REF QC981 W67ISBN: 0444407340Publication Date: 1969-01-01This is a massive 15 volume set on the study of climatology. Volumes are separated by region with titles such as The Climate of the Soviet Union, General Climatology (Vol 1), Climates in North America, etc. Each volume contains references sources, charts, graphs, appendices, a reference index, geographical index and a subject index.
