Articles and Databases
Journal articles on human development and family studies may be found in the following databases by conducting a keyword search or using subject headings such as Family Policy, Child Development, Family Finance and Gerontology.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracts of journal articles and books in psychology, including applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. Updated twice weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1597 - Present.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and abstracts of journals and other materials in education. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1966 - Present.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and abstracts of journals and other materials in education, including teacher education, testing, measurement, and evaluation. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1966 - Present.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Indexing of nearly 1,200 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, including magazines and scholarly journals.
- What dates are covered? 1907-1984.
- PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1914 - Present.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Web-based citation manager. Import citations from databases to create your own personal collection. Automatically format your papers and bibliographies in any of almost 150 formats (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, CBE, etc.).
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1952 - Present.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides citations and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
