LibGuides @ URI: HIS 362: Rhode Island History: Public Policy Resources

Current Policies, Laws, and Regulations

State of Rhode Island General Laws
Final Rules and Regulations Database
"This database contains all regulations filed by state agencies, boards and commissions since January 2002."
Proposed Rules and Regulations Database
"This database contains regulations that are currently proposed by state agencies, boards and commissions."
Code of Rhode Island Rules
URI Ref KFR35 .A24 (22 vols)
Text of all state regulations on file. Arranged by an 8-digit numbering system based on issuing agency. Indexed by subject, rule number, and citing authority.

Bill Tracker (State of Rhode Island General Assembly)
After you create a login, you can check the status of bills before the General Assembly.
Legislative Session Information
Covers current session's bills, laws, and amendments. Also provides links to bills and public laws from 1997 to the present.

Common Cause has run a series of programs on laws in Rhode Island. This video shows what happens during Rhode Island's legislative process.

PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1914 - Present.

ICMA
- This link opens in a new window
An association of professional managers serving various government entities.
Think Tank Search (Harvard Kennedy School)
- This link opens in a new window
Customized Google search of think tank and research centers provided by the Harvard Kennedy School.

America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and the full text of hundreds of full-text history journals about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes features such as the ability to search by time period.
- What dates are covered? 1955 to the present
Providence Journal (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Articles from the Providence Journal. Searchable page images available for 1829-1982 and 2017 to present. Full text available from 1981 to present.
- What dates are covered? 1829 - Present.

RI DataHub
Provides access to selected public data from the State and state agencies.
DataSpark
Successor to the Providence Plan, DataSpark collects and disseminates data about the state of Rhode Island.
Open Data (RI.gov)
State website for sharing data sets.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- What dates are covered? 1878 - Present.

Census Bureau
- This link opens in a new window
The website of the US Census Bureau. Create customized reports using tools on the Census Bureau website.