Need Help?
Introduction
Welcome! This guide is designed to help you locate research resources about the LGBTQ+ community and topics related to gender and sexuality. Use the tabs to the left to navigate between different types of resources.
If you need further assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to a URI librarian via the contact information on this page.
URI Gender and Sexuality Center
Are you looking for help that goes beyond academic research? The URI Gender and Sexuality Center is a great resource for anyone within the LGBTQ+ community or the URI community as a whole who may need advice or support with issues related to gender or sexuality. To get in touch with them, check out their website below.
- URI Gender and Sexuality Center
This link opens in a new window
Provides education, engagement, and support to the URI community on issues pertaining to gender and sexuality.
General Reference
Just getting started on understanding LGBTQ+ issues? These general reference resources will help you learn the terminology and basic concepts involved.
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781483371306Publication Date: 2016Explores the lives and experiences of LGBTQ individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. Focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives.
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating - HQ21 .I677 2015; Online AccessISBN: 9781118896877Publication Date: 2015Bills itself as "a comprehensive A-Z reference that defines sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and shows the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems."
LGBTQ in the 21st Century by Call Number: Carothers Library - Stacks - HQ76.3. U5 L43 2017; Online AccessISBN: 9781682174548Publication Date: 2017Reference title offering extensive, unbiased exploration of LGBTQ+ topics. Includes coverage of legal, educational, religious, governmental, and family issues via a compilation of notable articles from respected publications, abstracts of 20 to 30 additional articles, and a bibliography of other sources.
Books
Looking to do more in-depth research about an aspect of the LGBTQ+ community? The URI Libraries offer many books which take a highly detailed look at topics related to gender, sexuality and LGBTQ+ culture. To learn more about how to discover books at the URI Libraries, be sure to check out our Getting Started @ The Libraries guide.
To locate books that focus on a particular LGBTQ+ topic, conduct a subject search in the URI Libraries Search for any of the following subjects:
- LGBTQ (or individual terms lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, or queer)
- sexuality
- gender identity
- homosexuality
- gay rights
- trans rights
These subject headings can also be combined with keywords related to your topic for more specific results.
Not sure where to start? Browse the selected books presented below.
Arts and Literature:
The Cambridge Companion to American Gay and Lesbian Literature by Call Number: Carothers Library - Stacks - PS153.G38 C36 2015ISBN: 9781107646186Publication Date: 2015Examines the connections between LGBTQ populations and American literature from the late eighteenth to the twenty-first century. Surveys primary and secondary writings under the evolving category of gay and lesbian authorship, and incorporates current thinking in U.S.-based LGBTQ studies as well as critical practices within the field of American literary studies.
The Cambridge Companion to Lesbian Literature by Call Number: Carothers Library - Stacks - PN56.L45 C36 2015ISBN: 9781107054004Publication Date: 2016Examines literary representations of lesbian sexuality, identities, and communities, from the medieval period to the present.
Queer Cinema in the World by Call Number: Carothers Library - Stacks - PN1995.9.H55 S37 2016; Online AccessISBN: 9780822362463Publication Date: 2016Explores how queer filmmaking intersects with international sexual cultures, geopolitics, and aesthetics to disrupt dominant modes of world making.
History:
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780684325538Publication Date: 2019Covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America. Takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
Proud Heritage by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating - HQ76.3.U5 P765 2015ISBN: 9781610693981Publication Date: 2014Three-volume reference text that traces the roots and development of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) rights and issues in the United States from the pre-colonial period to the present day.
The Natural History of Sexuality in Early America by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781421426440Publication Date: 2018Examines the question of how to produce a history of sexuality for an era in which modern vocabularies for sex and desire were unavailable.
Law and Politics:
Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, and the Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating - KF4754.5 .C65 2017ISBN: 9781634608992Publication Date: 2016Presents an overview of legal topics relating to sexual orientation, gender identity and the law. Topics covered include regulation of sexuality, gender identity and expression, parenthood, marriage, United States military, nondiscrimination statutes and ordinances, freedom of expression, freedom of association, and religious freedom.
LGBTQ Americans in the U. S. Political System [2 Volumes] by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781440852763Publication Date: 2019Comprehensive sourcebook covering the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the early 1970s to the present day. Features historical essays, over 250 reference entries, primary documents, chronologies of events, and an appendix of LGBTQ organizations involved in politics.
LGBTQ Politics by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781479893874Publication Date: 2017A collection of essays on queer politics covering a range of topics, including activism, law, and coalition-building, and drawing on subfields such as American politics, comparative politics, political theory, and international relations.
Social Sciences:
Gender Studies: Interdisciplinary Research Primer by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating - HQ1075 .G46658 2016; Online AccessISBN: 9780028662817Publication Date: 2016Serves as a primer to the study of gender, including women’s, queer, and men’s studies. Identifies areas of critical thought and practice in gender and sexuality studies; provides an overview of central themes, current topics, and seminal debates; and offers resources for further research.
The Psychology of Sex and Gender by Call Number: Carothers Library - Stacks - BF692 .B67 2019ISBN: 9781506331324Publication Date: 2018Presents classic and cutting-edge research findings, historical contexts, examples from popular culture, cross-cultural universality and variation, and coverage of nonbinary identities for a full picture of the field.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781483384283Publication Date: 2017Looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level, exploring topics such as how gender intersects with developmental processes both in infancy and childhood as well as throughout later life stages; the evolution of feminism and the men’s movement; the ways in which gender can affect psychological outcomes and influence behavior; and more.
Articles and Databases
Looking to find the most current research about the LGBTQ+ community and topics related to gender and sexuality, or to do historical research about them? The URI Libraries offer access to many databases that can be used to find those materials. To learn more about how to discover journal or newspaper articles through the URI Libraries, be sure to check out our Getting Started @ The Libraries guide.
Not sure which databases to use? Browse the selected list below.
General:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
Newspapers:
- Providence Journal (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Articles from the Providence Journal. Searchable page images available for 1829-1982 and 2017 to present. Full text available from 1981 to present.
- What dates are covered? 1829 - Present.
- Early American Newspapers (America's Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? This growing digital collection of early American newspapers contains thousands of titles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The URI Libraries offer Series 1-13 and 18. For descriptions of the different Series, see Early American Newspapers by Series.
- What dates are covered? 1690 - 1922
Gender and Women's Studies:
- GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and governmental, NGO, and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
- What dates are covered? 1970's - Present
- Gender: Identity and Social Change (AM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, and the struggle for women’s rights.
- What dates are covered? 19th century - Present
Arts and Literature:
- Art Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Topics include art, art history, advertising, antiques, archaeology, architecture, fashion, interior design, textiles, and more. Also includes information about reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
- What dates are covered? 1984-. Updated daily.
- Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Updated twice a month.
- What dates are covered? Mostly 1970s - present, with some older coverage
- Gale Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: Rock, Folk and Hip-hop This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries. URI has access to the Rock, Folk and Hip-hop Magazine Archives.
History:
- America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and the full text of hundreds of full-text history journals about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes features such as the ability to search by time period.
- What dates are covered? 1955 to the present
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of countries other than the United States and Canada. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1450 - Present
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
Law and Politics:
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles that offer news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- What dates are covered? 1878 - Present.
Social Sciences:
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracts of journal articles and books in psychology, including applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. Updated twice weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1597 - Present.
- Communication Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles and journals related to communications, broadcasting, and public opinions on a world-wide scale. Covers articles, reports, papers, and books.
- What dates are covered? 1977-. Updated bimonthly.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1952 - Present.
Internet Resources
Still looking for more information about the LGBTQ+ community and topics pertaining to gender and sexuality? Below you'll find a list of internet resources related to the subject.
- The Advocate
- This link opens in a new window
Website of print magazine The Advocate. Both the magazine and the website feature content with an editorial focus on news, politics, opinion, and arts and entertainment of interest to members of the LGBTQ+ community. - American Civil Liberties Union - LGBT Rights
- This link opens in a new window
Webpage for the ACLU's efforts on behalf of the LGBTQ+ community. - American Psychological Association - Office on Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity
- This link opens in a new window
Webpage for the APA's Office on Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity. Offers information and resources regarding the psychological profession's involvement with the LGBTQ+ community. - Amnesty International - Gender, Sexuality, & Identity
- This link opens in a new window
Webpage for Amnesty International's efforts on behalf of the LGBTQ+ community. - GLAAD
- This link opens in a new window
Website of GLAAD, a non-governmental media monitoring organization founded by LGBTQ+ people in the media. - GLAD
- This link opens in a new window
Website for GLAD (GLBTQ Legal Advocates & Defenders), a Boston-based not-for-profit rights organization that works to combat discrimination against members of the LGBTQ+ community within the New England region. - Human Rights Campaign
- This link opens in a new window
Website for the Human Rights Campaign, a not-for-profit civil rights organization that is the largest LGBTQ+ advocacy group in America. - It Gets Better Project
- This link opens in a new window
Website of the It Gets Better Project, an internet-based not-for-profit nonprofit that works to prevent suicide among LGBTQ+ youth by having adults from the LGBTQ+ community share their own stories. - Lambda Legal
- This link opens in a new window
Website of the Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund (more commonly known as Lambda Legal), a civil rights organization that focuses on LGBTQ+ communities as well as people living with HIV/AIDS (PWAs) through litigation, education, and public policy work. - Lambda Literary
- This link opens in a new window
Website of the Lambda Literary Foundation, an organization that works to promote LGBTQ+ literature and encourage the development of emerging writers from the LGBTQ+ community. - Leslie-Lohman Museum of Art
- This link opens in a new window
Website of the Leslie-Lohman Museum of Art, the only museum in the world dedicated to artwork documenting the LGBTQ+ experience. Offers searchable access to collections materials, publications, and more. - LGBTQ+ University Programs
- This link opens in a new window
Website that tracks and links to academic programs in the U.S. and Canada that serve the LGBTQ+ community. Hosted by the University of Kansas. - National LGBTQ Task Force
- This link opens in a new window
Website of the National LGBTQ Task Force, a not-for-profit advocacy organization that promotes and organizes action and activism on behalf of the LGBTQ+ community. - Options Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
Website of Options Magazine, a Rhode Island-based print magazine that provides advocacy and education to the LBGTQ+ community of Rhode Island and southeastern Massachusetts. - Out & Equal
- This link opens in a new window
Website of Out & Equal Workplace Advocates, a not-for-profit advocacy organization that works to advance the cause of workplace equality for members of the LGBTQ+ community. - PFLAG
- This link opens in a new window
Website of PFLAG, a non-governmental organization uniting parents, families, and allies with people from the LGBTQ+ community. - Planned Parenthood - Gender Identity
- This link opens in a new window
Webpage from Planned Parenthood that provides information and resources related to gender identity. - Planned Parenthood - Sexual Orientation
- This link opens in a new window
Webpage from Planned Parenthood that provides information and resources related to sexual orientation. - The Trevor Project
- This link opens in a new window
Website of The Trevor Project, a not-for-profit organization focused on suicide prevention efforts among LGBTQ+ youth. - United Nations Free & Equal
- This link opens in a new window
Website for UNFE (United Nations Free & Equal), an international public information campaign led by the United Nations Human Rights Office intended to promote equal rights and fair treatment for members of the LGBTQ+ community. - Victory Fund
- This link opens in a new window
Website of the LGBTQ Victory Fund, the largest political action committee dedicated to increasing the number of openly LGBTQ+ public officials in the United States. - Youth Pride, Inc.
- This link opens in a new window
Website of Youth Pride, Inc., a Rhode Island organization that works to meet the unique needs of youth and young adults impacted by sexual orientation and gender identity/expression.
Created and Modified by
Created by David Bernardo, 6/20.