Need Help?
Mechanical Engineering and the Library
This is a guide to selected sources of information about mechanical engineering at URI. To locate books on mechanical engineering, go to the library catalog, select "subject" from the drop down box, and use terms like applied engineering, mechanical engineering, or physical engineering. Similar searches in Reference Databases such as Compendex (Engineering Village 2) and Inspec will locate articles.
One type of resource that you should look for is a handbook; they contain practical information such as specifications, tolerances, equations, and properties of materials and thus are extremely useful. You can find handbooks simply by adding "handbook" in another search box in the library catalog.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles in professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1970-. Updated weekly.
- What else should I know? Links to articles open in a pop-up window, so you will need to deactivate the pop-up blocker on your browser to connect to full text.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical literature. Provides coverage from over 3,400 journals, 2,000 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports in the subject areas of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, and production, mechanical engineering, and more.
- What dates are covered? 1969 - Present.
- What else should I know? This database is produced by the IET.
Worth a Look!
Check out these two libguides for resources on problem solving and standards!
- Engineering Standards
This link opens in a new window
- Engineering Problem Solving
- This link opens in a new window
Department Publications
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
Created and Updated
Created by A. Witt, 04/12.
Updated by Alexa Roy, 09/12.