Suggested Search Terms
To find materials on this topic in the Catalog and Article Databases, try the following terms:
- Obesity epidemic
- Obesity
- Obesity United States
- Obesity social aspects
- Obesogenic
- Overweight
- Overweight persons
- Childhood obesity
- Obesity in children
- URI Libraries SearchLocate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Articles & Databases
The best database to use depends on which aspect of the obesity epidemic you are researching. Start with CQ Researcher for an overview. Academic Search Complete is your best next step for general research. After that, use Sociological Abstracts if you are researching social and behavioral aspects. Consult the Health Sciences Databases such as CINAHL if you are researching the health aspects. Use Nexis Uni if you are interested in legal issues concerning obesity.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Reports researched and written by journalists, on a variety of current topics. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- What dates are covered? 1923-. Updated weekly.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1952 - Present.
- CINAHL (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials in nursing and allied health.
- What dates are covered? 1981-. Updated monthly.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
Internet Resources
- CDC: Obesity and OverweightContains information about adult and childhood obesity, data and statistics,
- How Obesity Threatens America's FutureMaintained by Trust for America's Health (TFAH). Provides links to state-specific obesity information.
- Obesity and Appetite RegulationMaintained by the Endocrine Society. Contains news, general information, statistics, and treatment methods.
- Prevalence of Obesity Among Adults: United States, 2011–2012National Center for Health Statistics Data Brief, Oct 2013. Provides obesity statistics by race, age and gender
Books
Heavy! by Call Number: URI RA645.O23 M35 2012ISBN: 9783642201349Publication Date: 2011"... offers new insight into the economic causes and consequences of America's dramatic weight gain over the past half century. It also uncovers the follies of seeking to remedy the country’s weight problems with government intrusions into people’s excess eating, arguing that controlling people’s eating habits is fundamentally different from controlling people’s smoking habits. "
Killer Fat by Call Number: eBook available via ProjectMuseISBN: 9780813553726Publication Date: 2012"...examines how and why obesity emerged as a major public health concern and national obsession in recent years. Using primary sources and in-depth interviews, Boero enters the world of bariatric surgeries, Weight Watchers, and Overeaters Anonymous to show how common expectations of what bodies are supposed to look like help to determine what sorts of interventions and policies are considered urgent in containing this new kind of disease."
The Oxford Handbook of the Social Science of Obesity by Call Number: URI Ref. RA645.O23 O96 2011ISBN: 9780199736362Publication Date: 2011"...summarizes the findings and insights of obesity-related research from the full range of social sciences including anthropology, economics, government, psychology, and sociology."
What's Wrong with Fat? by Call Number: URI RA645.O23 S24 2013ISBN: 9780199857081Publication Date: 2013"... maps the evolution of Western ideas about fat and fat people from the Middle Ages to the present, paying particular attention to the role of science, fashion, fitness crazes, and public health campaigns in shaping these views. While hefty bodies were once a sign of power, today those who struggle to lose weight are considered poor in character and weak in mind. Vigarello traces the eventual equation of fatness with infirmity and the way we have come to define ourselves and others in terms of body type. "
Latest articles from the New York Times
Loading ...
Created by
Madge Boldt, 02/14
Other Hot Topic Guides
- Hot Topic: Cybersecurity & Cyberterrorism
- Hot Topic: Electronic Health Record (EHR)
- Hot Topic: Gender Neutral Bathrooms
- Hot Topic: Internet Privacy
- Hot Topic: Kurdish Independence Movement
- Hot Topic: Obesity Epidemic
- Hot Topic: Regulation of the Financial Services Industry
- LGBTQ+ Resources
- News Literacy & Alternative Facts: How to Be a Responsible Information Consumer