Suggested Search Terms
To find materials on this topic in the Catalog and Article Databases, try the following terms:
- Privacy, Right of -- United States
- Internet -- Law and legislation -- United States -- Popular works
- Internet -- Political aspects
- Online social networks -- Political aspects
- Online social networks -- Security measures
- URI Libraries SearchLocate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Articles & Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- Guide to Computing Literature (ACM) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A collection of of more than 750,000 citations and abstracts from 3,000+ publishers, including works published by ACM and other publishers. Coverage includes books, journal articles, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and technical support. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the Guide.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles that offer news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Internet Resources
- Privacy | Electronic Frontier FoundationNews, issues, documents, and legal cases regarding internet and digital privacy.
- Consumer Privacy | Center for Democracy and TechnologyProvides updates and information about online consumer privacy.
- EPIC - Electonic Privacy Information CenterFrom the About page: "EPIC is a public interest research center in Washington, D.C. It was established in 1994 to focus public attention on emerging civil liberties issues and to protect privacy, the First Amendment, and constitutional values."
Privacy Tools How To Guides
- CryptoPartyCryptoParties are community events to teach individuals how to protect their privacy and security online. The CryptoParty website has a calendar of events all over the world and hosts many helpful guides about using cryptographic tools for privacy and security.
- Surveillance Self-DefenseSurveillance Self-Defense is a project of the Electronic Frontier Foundation. This site has been put together by experts on privacy and security, it includes guides for using tools to increase privacy, and also explains concepts and theory to enable individuals to make better informed decisions about their online privacy.
- Freedom of the Press FoundationThe Freedom of the Press Foundation provides privacy and security guides geared towards journalists, activists and others at risk of surveillance. The site also includes legal information, such as your rights when a phone or device is seized by law enforcement.
- Security in-a-BoxSecurity in-a-Box was created by experts from the Tactical Technology Collective and Front Line Defenders. The site contains useful privacy and security guides for all major computer and mobile platforms. The site also contains community guides geared toward particular groups, such as environmental advocates, or LGBTI individuals living under oppressive regimes.
- DIY Cybersecurity for Domestic ViolenceThis site is geared towards assisting victims of domestic abuse assert their security and privacy online. Written in an empathetic tone, the site addresses the emotional needs as well as the cybersecurity needs of domestic abuse victims.
- Me & My ShadowA project of the Tactical Technology Collective, Me & My Shadow aims to assist individuals take control over their data traces by teaching what data is collected, how it is collected, and how that data is being used in industry.
Electronic Frontier Foundation Updates
Loading ...
Created and Modified by
Amanda Izenstark
Updated by Rick Tavares 3/17
Other Hot Topic Guides
- Hot Topic: Cybersecurity & Cyberterrorism
- Hot Topic: Electronic Health Record (EHR)
- Hot Topic: Gender Neutral Bathrooms
- Hot Topic: Internet Privacy
- Hot Topic: Kurdish Independence Movement
- Hot Topic: Obesity Epidemic
- Hot Topic: Regulation of the Financial Services Industry
- LGBTQ+ Resources
- News Literacy & Alternative Facts: How to Be a Responsible Information Consumer