Showing 1 Guides
Showing 13 Databases
Best Bets!
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
- What’s included? Covers all major fields of philosophy, including ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, axiology and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of the disciplines, such as law, religion, science, politics, history, language, and education. Provides citations and abstracts to scholarly research published in books and over 680 international journals. Produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center.
- What dates are covered? 1940 - Present.
- What’s included? More than 660,000 pages of content that follow the development of religions and religious movements born in the U.S. Derived from numerous collections, most notably the American Religions Collection at the University of California, Santa Barbara, Religions of America traces the history and unique characteristics of movements through manuscripts, pamphlets, newsletters, ephemera, and visuals.
- What dates are covered? 1820 - 1990.
- What’s included? Focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices.
- What dates are covered? From the late 19th century through the 21st century.
Additional Databases
- What's included? Primary sources about philosophy, the evolutionary debate, the Reformation, spiritualism, prayer, ancient linguistics, archeology, devotionals, ethics, and more in a variety of languages.
- What dates are covered? Covers the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions, with the majority of titles from the 19th century.
- What's included? Books and manuscripts about religion and its changes in the United States at the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th.
- What dates are covered? 1894-1922
- What’s included? Literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
- What dates are covered? 400 AD - 1700 AD.
- What’s included? Authoritative research guides to the current scholarship across a wide variety of subject areas, written and reviewed by academic experts. URI offers access to the following bibliographies: African American Studies; Criminology; International Relations; Islamic Studies; Medieval Studies; and Renaissance and Reformation.
- What’s included? Electronic version of the celebrated Registres et lettres des Papes du XIIIe siècle (32 vols.: Rome, 1883-) and the Registres et lettres des Papes du XIVe siècle (48 vols.: Rome, 1899-). In addition, it contains a large amount of unpublished material. The present version of the database contains more than 250,000 documents, all categories included.
- What dates are covered? 1883 - Present.
- What's included? Citations to preprints posted in arXiv, bioRxiv, medRxiv, chemRxiv, and Preprints.org.
- What dates are covered? 1990 - Present.
- What else should I know? Preprints are not peer-reviewed articles, but some preprints may subsequently be published in the scholarly literature. If you have questions about the quality of a preprint, please consult the Research Help Desk for verification.
- What’s included? Full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
- What's included? Cited references for dissertations included in the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. Useful for locating unpublished and new research.
- What dates are covered? Late 1800s - Present.
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
No blog posts have been assigned to this subject.
Search
Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.
Philosophy Experts
Contact Information
Brian Gallagher
Contact:
Robert L. Carothers Library & Learning Commons #103
15 Lippitt Road
Kingston, RI 02881
401-874-9524
15 Lippitt Road
Kingston, RI 02881
401-874-9524